Hillary Clinton's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I used to bake all the cookies as a local bakery and found this to be a great recipe. I substituted butter for the shortening and baked them on a baking stone. I also throw in a handfull of chopped pecans. The Ghirardelli semi sweet chips have been the best to use so far. They also seem to have to bake about 12 minutes in my oven before they are "right" for me, the first batch about 2 minutes longer. I thought my oven was off temp wise but the oven thermometer I put in agreed with the oven on the temp. I have made them over 30 times for various parties and that is all everyone wants me to bring. For those who said they turned out thin, I am scratching my head in wonder since mine always turn out fairly thick. Maybe the baking stone is the difference there, or even the butter, or pecans. I would also chunk your baking soda and get a fresh box just in case. If none of that works, It could be how you are mixing them. Usally people over mix cookie doughs. One other possibility is the type of oatmeal you are using. I use the quick oats. The old fashioned require longer to absorb the moisture to cook which could cause some thinning to occur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I substituted two sticks of butter for the shortening and I ran the oatmeal through the food processor before adding them to the cookie batter. I did use Guittard Extra Dark Chocolate Chips in this recipe. I really packed my small cookie scoop as I wanted a bigger sized cookie--they were done at eleven minutes. I let them sit on the hot cookie sheet for a minute before pulling them off and letting them cool on the countertop. These cookies turned out wonderfully. Very visually appealing cookie. My husband is not much for oatmeal or "extras" in his chocolate chip cookies but he told me that he thought these were VERY good--and that's saying something. No complaints here! I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This cookie is missing the mark BIG time! I think of a chocolate chip cookie, and I imagine somewhat of a mild buttery vanilla flavour...this is lacking in taste big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I think this is a fool-proof, crowd-pleasing cookie. The oatmeal makes the cookie nicely chewy but doesn't overpower the cookie with oatmeal taste. I use Ghiradelli Double Chocolate chips for a really sumptuous cookie. Sometimes I substitute 1 c. dried tart cherries for the chips, to make a more sophisticated cookie. I think the shortening really makes the texture of this cookie sublime, which is unfortunate because I wish I didn't have to use shortening, as it contains unhealthy partially hydrogenated oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Leave it to this politically savvy powerhouse to figure out how to make a fantastic chocolate chip cookie! :) I'm being completely bi-partisan when I say these were fantastic. Crispy, flavorful and delicious!!! I followed directions to the letter except for greasing the cookie sheet before baking (thought it wasn't necessary). I would reccommend NOT skipping this step, however, because cookies stuck firmly to pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Great flavor. I cut the oatmeal down to 1.5 cups, too but I think it could have used the extra "filler" because my cookies came out flat and delicate if undercooked even slightly (I usually prefer cookies undercooked but these were better with brown around the edges.) If you want a less flat cookie substitute some shortening for some of the butter. Too bad Hillary doesn't have a good recipe for politics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
My kids and I made these cookies together. They are some of the best chocolate chip cookies we've made. We all highly recommend these to anyone who is a chocolate chip cookie lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I have used this recipe since it was published nearly 20 years ago, and it's the only chocolate chip cookie recipe that I use. I have made several variations including adding one or all of the following: shredded coconut, chopped pecans and chopped walnuts. I typically use chopped Ghiradelli semi-sweet dark chocolate instead of chips, and I typically use butter instead of any other kind of shortening. The recipe is very forgiving if you like to create variations and is an excellent base recipe to begin experimenting on your own. Several people have noted that the cookies come out flat. I have found that happens if you don't have a good cookie sheet. If you are serious about baking, invest in a good cookie sheet and you shouldn't have a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
this is the only chocolate chip cookie I make now. it is very good!!! I suggest the butter flavor shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
This has more oatmeal in it than a variation of a chocolate chip cookie should have. Maybe it should be classified or titled and oatmeal choc chip cookie. Either case I've had better. This is a so-so cookie, nothing great. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States