Hillary Clinton's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I found this recipe when I was looking for a CC cookie recipe with shortening (I was out of butter and my family was craving cookies). It was perfect. I loved how the cookies were lightly crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the outside. Delicious and just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I love this cookie. I make this for my fiancee and his father everytime they go out of town. They eat them the first night, I have to make over 50 to make them happy... (I also put more oatmeal in it) makes it more chewy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I have used this recipe since it was published nearly 20 years ago, and it's the only chocolate chip cookie recipe that I use. I have made several variations including adding one or all of the following: shredded coconut, chopped pecans and chopped walnuts. I typically use chopped Ghiradelli semi-sweet dark chocolate instead of chips, and I typically use butter instead of any other kind of shortening. The recipe is very forgiving if you like to create variations and is an excellent base recipe to begin experimenting on your own. Several people have noted that the cookies come out flat. I have found that happens if you don't have a good cookie sheet. If you are serious about baking, invest in a good cookie sheet and you shouldn't have a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is almost identical to the Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie I recipe on this site which gets excellent reviews. The only differences is that this one has vanilla and a slightly different proportion for the sugars. I've used this one for about 12 years and always gotten excellent reviews. I do reduce the salt slightly (maybe 7/8 TSP).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I have tried this recipe twice and when I followed the recipe exactly, the cookies turned out really flat. I have had to add almost a whole cup of flour to have them keep any kind of shape when they cook. Otherwise, they do taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These cookies are delicious and easy to make. I love how they're chewy and a little bit crunchy at the same time! I made them with whole wheat pastry flour and Splenda in place of the white sugar. Next time I make these I will probably use only half as many chocolate chips and add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract, because I like a little bit of a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These cookies were much to flat and the dough was not very substantial. I would recommend not trying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This are really good cookies. My family and I loved them. I will definately use again. I did use 1/2 whole wheat flour and quick cooking rolled oats, but otherwise followed exactly. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Yummy! I used butter instead of shortening and they turned out great- very different than traditional chocoalte chip cookies. They're worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I didn't have shortening so I used butter, so my review may not really count for anything. In any case, the dough tasted phenomenal and I had really high hopes, but they cooked up flat and terrible. Total waste of ingredients. I didn't cook up all the dough yet. I may tinker with it to see if it is salvageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States