Highway Cafe Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Great Pie. I love chess pies so I thought I would try this one. I'm not a big fan of raisins so I just put in the nuts. I was worried it might not taste that great but it was wonderful. Everyone loved it. My mom even asked how to make it. This is not as sweet as a chess pie and I like it that way. My mom and I cut the sugar when making one anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oldtrucks
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very pleased. I used Chopped Pecans in place of the Walnuts, and Splenda Baking Sugar in place of regular sugar, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very very rich pie. I liked it but was the only one for our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOLLEEZ
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This pie is divine! If you like rich desserts, this is one to try. I omitted the walnuts as my boyfriend doesn't like them (I will make one with nuts for this Christmas though lol) and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Easy to follow. Got rave reviews from my Finnish inlaws. I used only one cup of raisins and half cup of walnuts (all I had), and boiled water to just pour over the bowl of raisins, rather than actively boiling the raisins. Worked great. Served with vanilla sauce, but next time I might serve with vanilla ice cream or caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is an excellent pie. All our family thought it was the best ever and some preferred it to pecan because it was not quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Magnifficent,spectacular,i have found nervana! This recipe is better than any pecan, or chess i have ever had. All other pies will never be the same. It is very addictive, and may be dangerous if there isn`t enough to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious! Came out perfect. The only thing I did different was soak the raisins in water and rum. Yum! I also let it sit in the over until it cooled. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Man, this pie is great! It is so creamy. It does not last long. Deserves the extra effort of a home-made pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Delicious! I used more raisins, because there was only alittle bit left in the bag, and brown sugar instead of white (my preference). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States