Highway Cafe Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was okay. Not the best I have ever had. I did have to bake closer to an hour and made without raisins and walnuts. It had a great texture and set perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Used Brown Sugar, and mixed golden and 'regular' raisins. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Just like I remember my Aunt Marie's Chess Pie except she topped it with meringue. One of my childhood favorites and now I can enjoy it as an adult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Maybe it's just a matter of taste but I found this pie much too sweet. After the first couple of bites I just couldn't eat any more. I followed the directions exactly except for omitting the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
i used golden raisons and no nuts, i used cane sugar [plenty sweet]. i cut the pie in half and was going to give to my apartment neighbors...but i never delivered it...it got better and better and i ate the whole thing. this is my first chess pie...the door is open. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
It really makes a great dessert. One I will make often. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Delicious! I used more raisins, because there was only alittle bit left in the bag, and brown sugar instead of white (my preference). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Man, this pie is great! It is so creamy. It does not last long. Deserves the extra effort of a home-made pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious! Came out perfect. The only thing I did different was soak the raisins in water and rum. Yum! I also let it sit in the over until it cooled. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Magnifficent,spectacular,i have found nervana! This recipe is better than any pecan, or chess i have ever had. All other pies will never be the same. It is very addictive, and may be dangerous if there isn`t enough to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States