Highland Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I loved this, my husband wasn't wild about how sticky it was. I used block chocolate and left off the nuts. I'll make it again and have it all for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Yummy!! and so easy. I have a similar recipe that uses graham crackers as the base, these were chewy and delicious. Competition for the other recipe for sure..can't stop eating them, so make a lot..Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These were a bit sticky, but didn't matter..they tasted fantastic! My son's class loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Yum! I like using oats in cookies and squares, and these were great! I omitted the nuts (didn't have any), but otherwise pretty much followed the recipe. I have made two batches, and both turned out well. I used foil to line the pan (makes for easy removal of squares), but remember to grease/spray the foil! Otherwise, as in my second batch, the squares will REALLY stick to the foil. Also, I didn't bother melting the chocolate chips separately: I sprinkled them on the top of the squares when there was two or three minutes left in the baking time and then smoothed the chocolate evenly with a knife. Stick them in the fridge awhile, cut, eat! Delicious! Thanks, Josh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It took me a while to warm up to this recipe. I had no idea if it was done when I took it out of the oven and after it had come to room temperature, it was still falling apart and messy. However, I put it in the fridge until the chocolate set really well then pulled the entire bar out (I tin-foiled the pan and buttered the tin-foil) and cut it while it was still solid. After a night at room temp. these bars are wonderfully chewy and absolutely beautiful! Next time I need a sweet for a party, this will be the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Chewy throughout with a thin "syrup glaze" on the bottom. It is sticky and chewy like a soft toffee should be. Finely chopped walnuts add that extra flavor to the dessert. [My review is on the Highland Toffee recipe made with salted butter (or original I Can't Believe It's Not Butter) and without the 1/2 tsp salt. The butter, as opposed to the oil, gives the dessert an authentic toffee flavor.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I really enjoyed these but hubby wasn't too fussy on them (thought they tasted like they weren't cooked enough). I used butter, not oil, and omitted the nuts. Placed greased tinfoil in my pan and that made a world of difference. Before they finished cooking I sprinkled some chocolate chips on top and stuck it back in the oven. When the timer went off I used a butter knife to spread the chocolate out. Threw the whole pan in the freezer for an hour. Took them out and used a greased, sharp knife to cut into bars and then threw them back in the freezer. I'm leaving them in there and just grabbing one out when I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fantastic recipe! Every time I make it I get many compliments and people asking for the recipe. I use a glass pan (very generously greased) and follow the recipe exactly (except the nuts), put the pan in the fridge until the chocolate is very hard, then cut it up and move to a plate, and stick it back in the fridge. Definitely one of my favorites : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
So easy and SO GOOD! My 2 and a half year old son was just dying to try it, so when i cut it into the 4 squares I cut off little bits for us to taste. We ended up eating a whole quarter of it still warm and crumbly with no chocolate or anything! It is pretty sweet, so I decided to use semi-sweet chips over milk chocolate and will def add finely chopped walnuts for a more authentic and complex flavor. This is so quick and easy, and I always have all of the ingredients on-hand. I plan on making it when I have only short notice for visitors coming over as a welcoming treat. Haha.. people will think I am a doting hostess, but it will be a good excuse to make these quick delicious bars. Awesome recipe and thanks so much fo posting this keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
As written, 4 stars. With these changes, five: 1) I used 1/3 cup melted butter instead of oil 2) I lined my pan w/ foil sprayed w/ nonstick spray 3) Used closer to 3/4 cup milk chocolate chips and added a few splashes of milk to them after melting and then stirred. Made a delicious icing that wasn't too sweet! 4) Put pan in freezer for 30 min after baking for 14 minutes instead of 12 5) Used pecans instead of walnuts Thanks so much! GREAT base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States