Highland Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Four stars for the original, FIVE for this recipe with the following modifications: - butter instead of oil (yum, why wouldn't you?) - four minutes extra in the oven - milk chocolate melted on top - half an hour in the freezer before cutting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Yum! I like using oats in cookies and squares, and these were great! I omitted the nuts (didn't have any), but otherwise pretty much followed the recipe. I have made two batches, and both turned out well. I used foil to line the pan (makes for easy removal of squares), but remember to grease/spray the foil! Otherwise, as in my second batch, the squares will REALLY stick to the foil. Also, I didn't bother melting the chocolate chips separately: I sprinkled them on the top of the squares when there was two or three minutes left in the baking time and then smoothed the chocolate evenly with a knife. Stick them in the fridge awhile, cut, eat! Delicious! Thanks, Josh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Very sticky and sweet. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I really enjoyed these but hubby wasn't too fussy on them (thought they tasted like they weren't cooked enough). I used butter, not oil, and omitted the nuts. Placed greased tinfoil in my pan and that made a world of difference. Before they finished cooking I sprinkled some chocolate chips on top and stuck it back in the oven. When the timer went off I used a butter knife to spread the chocolate out. Threw the whole pan in the freezer for an hour. Took them out and used a greased, sharp knife to cut into bars and then threw them back in the freezer. I'm leaving them in there and just grabbing one out when I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I LOVE toffee. I have made at least 5 different toffee recipes. This was not among my favorites. I love oatmeal too, so I thought this recipe had potential. Sadly, to me it just came out too chewy and did not have the toffee flavor I sought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
As written, 4 stars. With these changes, five: 1) I used 1/3 cup melted butter instead of oil 2) I lined my pan w/ foil sprayed w/ nonstick spray 3) Used closer to 3/4 cup milk chocolate chips and added a few splashes of milk to them after melting and then stirred. Made a delicious icing that wasn't too sweet! 4) Put pan in freezer for 30 min after baking for 14 minutes instead of 12 5) Used pecans instead of walnuts Thanks so much! GREAT base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Yummy!! and so easy. I have a similar recipe that uses graham crackers as the base, these were chewy and delicious. Competition for the other recipe for sure..can't stop eating them, so make a lot..Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
These are very good and not as sweet as I thought they would be after reading other reviews here. I only changed a couple of things: I baked the bottom a couple minutes longer than directed and did not cool it, but rather sprinkled the cup of semisweet chips over the top and put them back into the oven (turned off) for 2 more minutes; I then spread the softened chips over the top using an offset spatula and sprinkled chopped walnuts over the top. I let it cool to almost room temperature and then put it in the fridge for a couple of hours before cutting. After going around the edges with a sharp thin knife, I had no trouble whatsoever removing the whole thing from the pan and cutting it into squares and then triangles on a cutting board. I would suggest storing them in the refrigerator, especially in warm weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Yum! I definitely suggest refrigerating these over night before eating them..they taste sooo much better the next day. The only change that I made to the recipe was to sub melted butter for the 1/3 c vegetable oil. Deeee-lish! :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fantastic recipe! Every time I make it I get many compliments and people asking for the recipe. I use a glass pan (very generously greased) and follow the recipe exactly (except the nuts), put the pan in the fridge until the chocolate is very hard, then cut it up and move to a plate, and stick it back in the fridge. Definitely one of my favorites : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States