Highland Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very tasty but almost impossible to remove from the pan. My sister and I broke them into chunks and dipped them in chocolate to make them tastier and prettier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Chewy throughout with a thin "syrup glaze" on the bottom. It is sticky and chewy like a soft toffee should be. Finely chopped walnuts add that extra flavor to the dessert. [My review is on the Highland Toffee recipe made with salted butter (or original I Can't Believe It's Not Butter) and without the 1/2 tsp salt. The butter, as opposed to the oil, gives the dessert an authentic toffee flavor.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were yummy. I made them with butter, and then to combat the stickiness, I flipped them over (the bottoms were the sticky part) and put the chocolate on that way :) Refridgerate it and then spray your knife with a cooking spray and it'll cut up easily. Also, I cooked 2 batches, 1 with salt (and salted butter) and 1 without the salt (still using salted butter) and the one without the salt was much better. So I'd omit that from the recipe as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I LOVE toffee. I have made at least 5 different toffee recipes. This was not among my favorites. I love oatmeal too, so I thought this recipe had potential. Sadly, to me it just came out too chewy and did not have the toffee flavor I sought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Four stars for the original, FIVE for this recipe with the following modifications: - butter instead of oil (yum, why wouldn't you?) - four minutes extra in the oven - milk chocolate melted on top - half an hour in the freezer before cutting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It took me a while to warm up to this recipe. I had no idea if it was done when I took it out of the oven and after it had come to room temperature, it was still falling apart and messy. However, I put it in the fridge until the chocolate set really well then pulled the entire bar out (I tin-foiled the pan and buttered the tin-foil) and cut it while it was still solid. After a night at room temp. these bars are wonderfully chewy and absolutely beautiful! Next time I need a sweet for a party, this will be the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Yummy! Like other reviewers i sprinkled the chocolate chips on for the last few minutes of baking. I think I needed to bake mine longer, necause the middle ones were pretty chewy and coming apart, but the oustide ones stayed together well. I lined the pan with greased foil and had no trouble getting them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Yum! I like using oats in cookies and squares, and these were great! I omitted the nuts (didn't have any), but otherwise pretty much followed the recipe. I have made two batches, and both turned out well. I used foil to line the pan (makes for easy removal of squares), but remember to grease/spray the foil! Otherwise, as in my second batch, the squares will REALLY stick to the foil. Also, I didn't bother melting the chocolate chips separately: I sprinkled them on the top of the squares when there was two or three minutes left in the baking time and then smoothed the chocolate evenly with a knife. Stick them in the fridge awhile, cut, eat! Delicious! Thanks, Josh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These were a bit sticky, but didn't matter..they tasted fantastic! My son's class loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The squares were sticky and hard to get out of the pan and the chocolate topping didn't stick very well to the oatmeal bottom. That said, it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States