Highland Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
These are very good and not as sweet as I thought they would be after reading other reviews here. I only changed a couple of things: I baked the bottom a couple minutes longer than directed and did not cool it, but rather sprinkled the cup of semisweet chips over the top and put them back into the oven (turned off) for 2 more minutes; I then spread the softened chips over the top using an offset spatula and sprinkled chopped walnuts over the top. I let it cool to almost room temperature and then put it in the fridge for a couple of hours before cutting. After going around the edges with a sharp thin knife, I had no trouble whatsoever removing the whole thing from the pan and cutting it into squares and then triangles on a cutting board. I would suggest storing them in the refrigerator, especially in warm weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Very easy and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Yum! I definitely suggest refrigerating these over night before eating them..they taste sooo much better the next day. The only change that I made to the recipe was to sub melted butter for the 1/3 c vegetable oil. Deeee-lish! :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I had high expectations after reading other reviews, but was pretty dissappointed in these. They were very crumbly and sticky on the bottom, after cutting them apart. I think that boiling the wet ingred on the stove and then addding the oats would be a better method to get everything to stay together. These were pretty good tasting, just not something i would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
As written, 4 stars. With these changes, five: 1) I used 1/3 cup melted butter instead of oil 2) I lined my pan w/ foil sprayed w/ nonstick spray 3) Used closer to 3/4 cup milk chocolate chips and added a few splashes of milk to them after melting and then stirred. Made a delicious icing that wasn't too sweet! 4) Put pan in freezer for 30 min after baking for 14 minutes instead of 12 5) Used pecans instead of walnuts Thanks so much! GREAT base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
So easy and SO GOOD! My 2 and a half year old son was just dying to try it, so when i cut it into the 4 squares I cut off little bits for us to taste. We ended up eating a whole quarter of it still warm and crumbly with no chocolate or anything! It is pretty sweet, so I decided to use semi-sweet chips over milk chocolate and will def add finely chopped walnuts for a more authentic and complex flavor. This is so quick and easy, and I always have all of the ingredients on-hand. I plan on making it when I have only short notice for visitors coming over as a welcoming treat. Haha.. people will think I am a doting hostess, but it will be a good excuse to make these quick delicious bars. Awesome recipe and thanks so much fo posting this keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fantastic recipe! Every time I make it I get many compliments and people asking for the recipe. I use a glass pan (very generously greased) and follow the recipe exactly (except the nuts), put the pan in the fridge until the chocolate is very hard, then cut it up and move to a plate, and stick it back in the fridge. Definitely one of my favorites : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I really enjoyed these but hubby wasn't too fussy on them (thought they tasted like they weren't cooked enough). I used butter, not oil, and omitted the nuts. Placed greased tinfoil in my pan and that made a world of difference. Before they finished cooking I sprinkled some chocolate chips on top and stuck it back in the oven. When the timer went off I used a butter knife to spread the chocolate out. Threw the whole pan in the freezer for an hour. Took them out and used a greased, sharp knife to cut into bars and then threw them back in the freezer. I'm leaving them in there and just grabbing one out when I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was a good dessert recipe, easy and quick to make, but it is REALLY sweet and can be difficult to get out of the pan. I did make a couple changes to it though. I used butter instead of oil, and I did not put any nuts in it, and I put it in the freezer for about mins before I took it out of the pan, it made my job easier! But it was good just the same and all of my guests really liked it. It added some needed variety to my holiday treat pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Okay, these are delicious! I did make a few changes according to what I had on hand (take note that I am making these in the middle of the night to satisfy a sugar craving). I didn't have quick-cooking oats, I only had the old-fashioned kind and I was afraid these would not soften enough during baking. Instead, I used individual instant oatmeal servings, I had golden honey flavour. 4 pouches = 2 cups. Since I didn't have corn syrup, I replaced it with molasses. The final taste is very similar to my mother's puffed wheat recipe. I baked it in a 9" pie pan because I didn't have a square one and after the recommended 12 minutes, I pulled it out of the oven and cooled. The preparation had candied around the edges but the center remained too soft. I cut it into squares, prying the edges from the pan and baked another 5 minutes. This did NOT work. The batter just spread out some more, although it did candy. I spooned it out of the pan right after removing it from the oven because I was afraid that after it had cooled, it would be un-removable, which ultimately resembled a big glob of toffee. It tasted good just the same. Next time, I will try crumbling up the batter onto a lined cookie sheet and bake this way so it is evenly candied. Like that, I will have oat clusters instead of squares. I assume these will be great finger food or added to yogurt. I also lower sugar for my next batch AND use plain oats because these results were much too sweet. I didn't bother adding the c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burgz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States