High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Couldn't have been simpler. Rolled it in Montreal steak seasoning. Perfectly cooked and tender. Enough juice to make excellent gravy. Wonderful leftovers for open faced roast beef sandwiches the next day....Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I put my 2 lb roast in the 500 F oven for 20 min, 3 hours early. It was cold when I took it out, but cooked to perfection (med/rare)! I have had only mediocre results with roast beef in the past, and always had to cook the meat longer than specified though my oven temp is precise. This recipe is easy, economical, tastes really delicious, and I don't have to WORRY about it! Next time I'll take it out of the oven sooner. Thanks Lyn B-will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is absolutely the best! I have been cooking for over 50 years and the roast turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Try marinating in a good tomato base salad dressing or any other you desire for a full day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe using Montreal Steak spices and it turned out very tasty and quite tender. It reached 145 degrees quicker than the recipe indicated but I just left it in the oven until I was ready to serve it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Before this recipe, I had never made a roast. I'll admit, I was really scared to do it the way that the recipe suggested, at such a high temp. I only had a 1.5 lb. roast so I didn't cook it as long (7 mins per lb., so I only had it on high for about 10 mins). It turned out perfectly!! I was so happy, and I ended up making a rump roast yesterday the exact same way. My family loved it. Thanks for the fabulous method...I will never cook a roast any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This recipe was a good one. It was really simple for someone that's not that savvy in the kitchen. Unfortunately, the dinner still turned out bad. It wasn't the recipe at all though. This is the first time we had ever tried this cut of meat and it is the toughest meat that I've ever had. The flavor was great but we won't be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I over cooked it because the temp was under - should have eaten it after the 2.5 hrs. Still was good at well-done!!! Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I usually undercook or overcook my roasts. I followed this recipe exactly and it came out PERFECT! My family loved it....I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I am not a big fan of beef but will eat it occasionally. This was an outstanding roast. I did use kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. Can't wait to have some on a sandwich. Extremely easy,moist and tender. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States