High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I was afraid this was going to be dry and tough with no liquid in the recipe, but it ended up tasting like the best roast beef I'd ever had - perfectly pink and oh-so juicy in the center (even the leftovers in a ziplock bag were juicy the next day!). My only change was using steak seasoning. I would have killed to have some horseradish in my house that night... I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I was so suprised to end up with a perfectly med rare to med cut of beef that WAS tender. I followed the recipie RUBBING plenty off salt and pepper into the roast before putting it into the oven. The key is to 1 follow the directions. 2 slice as thinly as possible against the grain. 3 either serve with a flavorful sauce or serve on a sandwich w/ ajus. I was very happy w/ the result. Thank you for simplicity and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I had a 4 lb eye of round so I cooked it at 475 for 28 minutes. We had some unexpected delays, so I decided to just leave it in the oven rather than take it out after the 2.5 hours. It was probably in another hour or so. This was done to PERFECTION for us! We like our roast beef bright pink all the way through, but not rare. This hit it spot on! For seasonings I rubbed the roast with a combination of salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and thyme. I probably used about a teaspoon of salt and about 1/2 teaspoon of each of the others. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2026 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was so easy, I used garlic salt and fresh ground pepper and it had plenty of flavor. The center was quite tender, although the ends were a little tough. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe using Montreal Steak spices and it turned out very tasty and quite tender. It reached 145 degrees quicker than the recipe indicated but I just left it in the oven until I was ready to serve it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Couldn't have been simpler. Rolled it in Montreal steak seasoning. Perfectly cooked and tender. Enough juice to make excellent gravy. Wonderful leftovers for open faced roast beef sandwiches the next day....Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I over cooked it because the temp was under - should have eaten it after the 2.5 hrs. Still was good at well-done!!! Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I put my 2 lb roast in the 500 F oven for 20 min, 3 hours early. It was cold when I took it out, but cooked to perfection (med/rare)! I have had only mediocre results with roast beef in the past, and always had to cook the meat longer than specified though my oven temp is precise. This recipe is easy, economical, tastes really delicious, and I don't have to WORRY about it! Next time I'll take it out of the oven sooner. Thanks Lyn B-will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Try marinating in a good tomato base salad dressing or any other you desire for a full day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is absolutely the best! I have been cooking for over 50 years and the roast turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States