High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe three months ago and the results were INCREDIBLE. Never have we had such a delicious roast. I coat mine with salt, pepper, a bit of thyme, marjoram, onion powder, garlic and cumin. It sits overnight then I take it out to reach room temperature. From there on, I follow the instructions to the letter. It ALWAYS works, is ALWAYS perfect and we now make it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
After following the directions, meat was at 110 degrees. Not even close to being done. I have a gas stove, and perhaps that's the problem, as some others have reported. I'm trying to salvage dinner, but I guess we are not eating dinner any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used a top round roast, rolled it in seasonings and put it in the oven at 475 for the recommended time. Then I turned the temp down to 200 and left the house for several hours thinking about how I could fix the piece of leather that I'd likely come home to. Was I wrong! I am not a red meat eater but it really tasted good to me and the guys in my family loved it--perfectly medium rare. I still can't believe it worked so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Was so skeptical to try this, but SO glad I did! I always swore in the past that I would never buy an eye round roast again - just cannot believe the fantastic flavor and how tender this turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is absolutely the best! We like ours medium-rare, so I left the heat on for 30 minutes instead of 21, and it was perfect. A few minutes before taking it out of the oven, I prepared a horseradish/cream sauce to pour over it after I sliced it. It's so easy, and it gives you plenty of time to prepare your side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I don't know if it didn't work for me because my house is cold so the oven temp didn't stay hot after it was shut off or what but this isn't for me. I'm glad it worked so well for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T however my roast was slightly over-cooked and came out medium-medium well. The flavor was excellent and my husband did enjoy it, but I couldn't quite figure out why it was so over-cooked. I have a convection oven that does hold it's heat rather well but even though by the end of the time in the oven my oven was cold the roast was still more cooked inside than anticipated. I did doctor the marinade a little bit by brushing on my favorite Dijon mustard and gravy master marinade with a little bit of garlic powder and salt and pepper which gave the crust a lovely flavor, not sure if that affected the outcome at all but I doubt it. Next time I will cook it a little less at the 475 and hopefully it will be less overcooked. Thanks for a great start on a new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I was hesitant about this recipe, a tender roast left in the oven for over 2 hours while the oven is turned off!! We'll let me say, I was proven wrong! This was the most easiest, tender and juiciest roast I have ever made. I used an Espresso steak rub to season my roast and sprinkled about four packets of soy sauce (left over from Chinese takeout) and let it marinate in the fridge for about 4 hours. I don't know what forces of magical cookery were at play, but I will definitely make this roast again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have cooked my roasts with this method forever!!!! there is (or there should not be) any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I cooked this roast today, fabulous, couldn't be any easier.It made such nice gravy and the meat was cooked perfectly. I will never do it any other way. Thanks, RIcowgirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States