High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is the 4th time I made this eye roast this way. Again it came out tender like a fillet minion. It was so tender and juicy. I did a 4 lb roast sprinkled it with fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, seasoned salt. If anyone gets a tough roast then it is time for you to replace your oven because it is the oven not the recipe. I have a new oven and it holds the heat so the meat was juicy and tender. I also suggest that you use a 3.5 or larger cut of eye round anything smaller will be tough. I saved the leftovers and cut it on my slicer real thin for roast beef sandwiches with provolone cheese and long Italian hot peppers on real crispy Italian rolls two days later and everyone loved it "super tender"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I prepared exactly as written. Used a meat thermometer that I could monitor from outside the oven. I have a 37 year old Hotpoint electric oven. Thermometer read 145 degrees one full hour early!!I pulled the roast, let it rest, and it is beautifully cooked. Thin warm slices slathered with horseradish mayo are yummy and easy to chew!Just glad I monitored. Apparently my oven really stays hot even when turned off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Loved it. Easiest roast ever. Usually, my oven roasts are too tough and crock pot too tender - falls apart. This was perfect. Very tender, but easy to cut. Looked like roast from caterer. I was nervous about oven being off for that long so halfway through, I turned it back on low (175 as another person recommended). A little pink for my family and lukewarm, but perfect for me so I sliced off some for the cats and me, then put back in oven on 350 for about 20 minutes to make hotter and less pink. Still very tender. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I do tweak this recipe, but the basics are the same. I make a paste using 1T olive oil, 1T kosher salt, 1/4tsp black pepper, 1/2t rosemary, 1/2t dried thyme. Cover the roast with the paste (top, bottom, both ends) and I cook just as directed. I have never had a bad roast using this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used a 5 lb roast and thought it had a lot of flavour. Not as tender as I would have liked and a little to pink for my liking. I roasted at the indicated temperature for 40 minutes and then turned the oven off and left in the oven another 3 hours. Next time I will add another five minutes to the roasting time at 475 and leave in the oven for 3 hours. The gravy was amazing. My guests thought the roast was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is the second time I have made an eye round roast using this method and both times it came out over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved it! My first time making a roast beef. After reading several recipes, I came back to this unusual recipe, especially reading that the rib eye cut can tend to be on the tougher side. I thought to myself, how can I go wrong when all but one gave it a 5 star. Sorry SBelle, maybe something wrong with your oven. Besides the s&p, I coated mine with olive oil and sprinkled garlic powder all over. My husband and I were quite impressed with the outcome. For the chew factor, very important to slice it very thin. We tried a piece slightly thicker and found it to be better on the thinnest slice. The taste was also quite delicious, I must say. We were so impressed that I am going to cook a larger one for Thanksgiving and bring it over to my Host for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
We did this a week ago and are doing it again tonight. It is amazing, of course you really can't use your oven but probably putting potatos in with the roase would work, going to try that tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have a gas oven and it took some watching over @ 170F off and on. I used a remote thermometer and I'd turn the oven on and off according to the temperature. But it turned out wonderful. My boyfriend is still raving about the leftovers. I'm so happy!! I think SBelle probably overcooked her roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly. Roast came out of the oven dripping blood and totally uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States