High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Lynns713
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I left my 3.3 lb eye of round roast out on the counter for an hour to come to room temp, then brushed lightly with gravy master liquid, let it soak in a bit, then blotted with paper towel so it wouldn't overpower and would still crisp up on the outside. Like others, I used extra seasoning (s&p, onion powder, garlic powder, celery salt, paprika powder), set my gas oven for 500, put the roast on a rack in a roasting pan, reduced the heat to 475 for 23 minutes, then reduced the temp to 180, for an hour. I checked after that first hour and my instant read thermometer was just above 130, exactly where I wanted it (we like rare beef, but not bloody). I took it out and let it rest under foil for around an hour. It was a perfect pink throughout, and crispy on the outside! I also used the "Beef Au Jus" recipe (slightly tweaked) from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made the most perfect roast ever with this recipe. My Husband said it was the best thing I have ever made. I was bit nervous wondering if would be cooked through but it was perfect. Thank you!! Will definitely be a go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Made this yesterday!! Fabulous! I've done this with prime rib at Christmas....but never with any other roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The meat was really tender! I do recommend cooking at 200 degrees for 20 mins/lb instead of turning off the oven. Easy to make and no fail recipe. Best of all, it's a low calorie dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
this recipe turned my 4$ piece of meat into prime rib! No kidding. I even forgot to turn the oven down when I put the meat in, but it was perfect! Before it went in I rubbed it with Worcestershire sauce, garlic and Montreal steak blend. Fabulous- looks just like that photo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Hands down, the best roast beef ever!!! Soooo tender. Followed the instructions on point!!!! This is now one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scarlettnrs
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I had a top round roast, at 3.5 lbs. Looking for a way to cook this I found this recipe. Following the recipe and adding some thyme, rosemary, paprika to the seasoning. This came out perfect. Some where near medium rare, maybe just a bit more medium. I will be using this method for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettnrs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Perfect recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Brilliant. I am a believer - follow the recipe EXACTLY for amazing results. I can't believe this worked - but it did - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is the ONLY way I make roast beef, and not just eye of round roast, it works on ANY cut of beef roast. Just follow times/temperatures indicated and you will have perfect medium to medium rare roasts every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States