High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Gas oven! Wish I would have read the review from the person with the poorly insulated gas oven before I waiting the 2 1/2 hours...my oven was stone cold and my roast was extremely rare on the inside. Next time, I will keep the oven on 200 degrees for the 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Incredible! Having guests over & needed the oven. After the high temperature cooking I removed roast from the oven, wrapped in foil & placed it in a cooler. Three hours later it was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have made this recipe repeatedly with many weights of eye of round with success everytime. Has anyone tried it on other cuts such as a Baron?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I believe this recipe was a bit too simplistic. My 7 pound USDA CHOICE roast turned out a bit too well done for our liking (which also made it less tender than it should have been.) This would have been avoidable if I had, had a thermometer with a cord that I could read outside of the oven. Unfortunately, this method does not allow you to use a standard thermometer until the time is up. I dutifully kept the door shut with just a hope and prayer. I highly recommend people to make a purchase of the corded type thermometer if using this method. Ovens vary, (I am starting to think my oven runs hotter than it registers.) thicknesses of roasts vary,(mine was a long slender roast) and even the marbling of the meats vary and affect cooking time. If you like your roasts rare to medium rare, you will want to know the temp of the meat. All in all, I can't complain. I'm not saying this is a bad recipe or that my roast was total flop. It was quite good, if you like your meat medium to medium WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have cooked a lot of Roast Beef. I wish I would have found this recipe years ago. Thanks so much for sharing it. It will be my go-to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
THE BEST EYE OF ROUND ROAST EVER! I HAVE RUINED SO MANY OF THESE ROAST'S OVER THE YEARS, DRY AND TOUGH. THIS WAS THE EASIEST AND BEST RECIPE EVER! JUICY, TENDER, EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I had a 4 lb eye of the round with NO fat on it. So beyond that fact, I also have a gas oven which, while not that old, is probably not that great in quality. So I took the cook at 200 route for 20 min/lb out of pure fear. Since every variation called for not opening the oven at all during that no heat/low heat period, I put a sign on the oven stating "DO NOT OPEN". My younger brother apparently can't read well and opened it for about 2 seconds. The roast turned out great (considering there was no fat). But I guess I'll have to re-do this again to see if that minor change in heat made a difference or not :) Agree on on super thin slicing and the need for some sort of side dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I cooked a nine pound eye of round roast for Christmas dinner using this technique and it worked out famously! I was skeptical about turning my oven off so I decided to set my oven to 200 degrees F. Actually, I could have turned my oven off because the roast ended up being medium-well done even though I took the roast out of the oven 45 minutes early. The roast was juicy and my picky son ate it up. FYI I did use a meat thermometer to monitor the internal temperature of the roast. Great recipe! I will be using it again! Thanks, Vanessa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for our Christmas dinner. It was fabulous and I will definitely make it again. The family loved it. Before putting it in the oven I coated it with olive oil, and used salt, coarsely ground pepper, and garlic powder to season it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It turned out great! I added several additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States