High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
had a 3.5 lb roast patted with Fall River rub and garlic slivers inserted. Next time wait to put on seasonings until right before you put in the oven. Heated oven at 500 for twenty minutes and then pot in roast for 19 mins at 475 and shut off oven. Took out after 2 hours. We were disappointed in that it was really medium well with just a few traces of pink. It was tasty and not tough but definitely not rare like the picture. And we wanted rare. This may be our oven or the fact the rack we used elevated the roast to right under the heating element and burned the garlic slices we put in. Next time try 7 mins a pound and then turn off oven for an hour and a half. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Tried this today, I have to say I couldn't figure out how this could possibly work. To make a long story short it was great, perfectly done with lots of juices and very flavorful and tender.....try it just once and be amazed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made this exactly as instructed.The roast was tough. I'll stick with my crock pot or the old way I made it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Pucci Stefanowicz
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
THE BEST roast beef I've EVER made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The temperature on my thermometer probe peaked at 136 degrees & I was shooting for 140.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a really great recipe for cooking an eye round roast. However, I have found my cooking times to be less than the recipe, so I always use a digital meat thermometer that allows me to constantly monitor the meat's temperature. Not doing so would have meant well-done meat in every case. Using the meat thermometer, I get a medium-rare roast every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
So dry and tough it couldn't be cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kurt Matthew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
We made this for our family Christmas dinner and it was loved by all! I had a 7lb roast so I cut it in half to avoid long cooking time. I followed the recipe exactly and it was seasoned nicely with just the salt and pepper. It was a little over done for our preference (we like MR) but the tenderness of the roast more than made up for it. Next time we may try 20 min per/lb rest time as others did or cut the 2 1/2 hrs to 2 or less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Used a package of McCormick mushroom gravy mix to season. Turned out perfect medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States