High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. It was perfect! I will never cook eye of round any other way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We have an older gas oven, so, in light of the difficulties some reviewers had keeping their gas ovens from cooling down too quickly, I thought of ways to retain heat. I used my trusty cast-iron skillet instead of a roasting pan. I put a "rack" of potato wedges, onion wedges & carrots in the skillet. I placed a "poor man's pizza stone"(6 unglazed terra cotta tiles) on the oven racks. And, after the initial 18 minutes for our 2.6 lb. eye of round, I turned the oven to its lowest setting, 170 degrees, and left it alone for 2 1/2 hours, not expecting anything like the rave reviews I read. It is the juiciest, most tender roast ever! Crusty & well-seasoned on the outside, moist & just-right-pink on the inside. My husband sliced very thin slices, and we had it on challah rolls (it's a chilly Passover/Easter week). Thank you, Lyn! Your technique is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Beef was very tough, tasteless and needed another 30 minutes cooking time. I used a 2 lb. roast and followed the recipe to the letter. Where did I go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
good flavor but not tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this MANY times and it comes out perfect each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I was skeptical when I saw this. Having been comfortable in a kitchen for over 45 years, thought I had seen it all. But I just had to try. Coated the roast with that Steak Seasoning from Montreal :) and followed directions exactly as written. A perfect roast! Can't believe it. Best one I've ever made. Highly recommend and it couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love this method!! I generally use the McCormick Steak seasoning and it comes out fantastic, even though some of the spices get a little over done. I have to let mine cook a little longer before I turn my oven off because it does not seem to hold the heat well enough to cook it through enough for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Love the recipe. Stab holes in the roast and stuff in Garlic pieces. The house smells like garlic and it cooks down nicely and is very edible part of the roast. Also, you can make a Roux with flour and the drippings and combine that with Campbell's Beef Consomme and water to make a very nice Au Jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight after reading a number of reviews and loved it! Taking the advice of several reviewers, I left the fat on, rinsed and dried the meat, brushed the exterior with Gravy Master, then seasoned with salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder. Baked uncovered fat side up on a grill in a roasting pan at 500 degrees for 24 minutes for a three pound eye roast, then turned oven off for 2-1/2 hours. When I opened the oven afterward, it was cold (as mentioned by another reviewer, I don't think gas ovens hold the heat as well). I made a judgment call and put it back in the oven for 20 minutes on 350 degrees. Took out and let rest for another 20 minutes, then sliced to a beautiful assortment of medium and medium well done (more pink slices than red). I and my guests enjoyed it tremendously, taking seconds as well. I cannot believe the ease of cooking this way. I added water to a small amount of drippings to make a small amount of gravy. Can't wait to make it again now that I know it really works. The finished product looked like a professional chef cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I tried this with a 2.7 lb roast, an electric oven and a lot of skepticism. The meat did turn out incredibly tender and juicy for a eye of round. I cut an onion into large chunks and put it under the grid supporting the roast, with some home grown garlic. The fat drippings made the onions heavenly. The roast itself I rubbed with fresh thyme, cracked black pepper, celery seeds and then brushed it with peanut oil. No salt as it would draw moisture out of the roast. Additionally, I attempted to bake potatoes alongside the roast. The ones I used were small, about 3 inches in diameter. You will be pleased to know they turned out perfect. The reason I only put 4 stars is that, judging by my experience, the timing of the recipe is not flawless. When I decided to checked on it after 2h, The meat was cooked nice and pink, but the temperature had went back down to 120°F - it wouldn't have cooked more, only kept cooling down. By the time I had it sliced (1/8" thin with a slicer,) it was only luke warm. I had to layer it on a cookie sheet and shock it a bit in the oven in order to serve a warm meal to my friends. I'll definitely do this again, but next time I'll cook it 8 minutes / pound rather than 7, and then leave it only 1h30 rather than 2h30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States