High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! It's cooked just perfectly. Not to chewy, not to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
A REAL WINNER! The roast I bought seemed really tough, because I had the hardest time getting my meat thermometer in it; I was afraid I would snap it. I followed the recipe as written, calculating the correct minutes by multiplying the weight by 7 minutes. I also rubbed some baked potatoes in butter and wrapped them in foil and put them in the oven as well. The meat was not up to temperature at the end of the roasting time, maybe because of the baked potatoes. I heated the oven to 325 and threw my green bean casserole in with all of it. I baked in 10 minute increments to check the internal temperature. After 20 minutes, it was all ready. The roast was quite rare at one end, but the meat was amazingly tender and delicious. The potatoes were the lightest, fluffiest bakers I've ever had, and the skins were soft and yummy. I will definitely use this recipe again, including the baked potatoes and green bean casserole. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
the meat is still full of blood,even though i added 2 minutes per pound to have it more than medium rare. when i took it out of the oven the internal temperature didn't even reach 100 degrees. i did try the meat and it was tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Yes, by accident I left the roast in the oven 1&1/2 hrs. Came out well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Okay I want everyone to know- I stressed about making this for a week before actually doing it lol. The negative reviews scared me!! Electric vs. Gas, raw uncooked meat, older oven vs newer oven, smoke detectors going off??!?! Ahhhhh! But, I worked up the courage, (self-cleaned my ELECTRIC oven earlier this week) and made it tonight- My roast was an eye of round, 3.26 lbs. I let it sit out to room temp,rubbed it with olive oil, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, and a bit of liquid smoke. Cooked it fat side up like one reviewer suggested. And followed the recipe EXACTLY time wise.. 2.5 hours later, my roast is slightly crusty on the outside. Medium-well-ish (pink in *some* spots, but not all throughout) on the inside. And just the tiniest bit warm. And I mean the tiniest.... It tastes great.. But still a little tough and chewy. Less than how most eye of rounds usually turn out, but not "succulent" or "fall apart tender" or "melt in your mouth" like some people are describing it. I saw one reviewer say she used her electric carver to slice it super thin… I will probably invest in one of those, as my knife could not do the job. ZERO drippings whatsoever, so I made some au jus from scratch. I definitely want to try this again and tweak the cooking times, I felt like it was too overdone… Overall, still a better finished product than any of the eye of rounds I've had, or made before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Thanks so much for this. Its was very tender and the juices released were perfection. My oven has poor insulation though so i had to keep the heat about 150 for the 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
absolutely the best1 I grew up, and cooked myself, Prime rib all the time, this is so much cheaper and the flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I've made this about 4 times and each time it's a crowd pleaser. It's a fool proof way to cook an eye of round. The trick afterwards is to slice it ultra thin, I have good success with my electric knife or a fishing filet knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I will never cook a roast any other way! I followed the directions exactly and my roast turned out superb! I do believe its best to have a high quality choice of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is a simple recipe. I haven't found a better one yet. I have made this roast 3-4 times now (following the instructions exactly) and I haven't had any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States