High Rise Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These were easy and turned out absolutely perfect, the only thing I did was bake them for only 20 minutes will try 18 the next time as my oven is old, the edges were a little browner then I like them, I was doing a "trial run" trying to find rolls to make for fathers day and this is it!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Excellent roll recipe. they were very easy and so tasty. the only change I may make the next time is to skip the additional salt as the potato flakes I used had salt already added and the additional salt made them just a bit too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The best roll recipe ever! If you didn't know it, you can use this for cinnamon rolls and just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These rose well and looked nice. But for all the ingredients used, I thought they were a bit bland--they did not go over great at the big family dinner. Plus the recipe would have them way too big. I used a 9X13 pan and divided into 12 rolls and they were still a bit too big. I will try again-- maybe I didn't do something quite right since the others say they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These rolls were very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these for New Year's Eve to serve with crockpot soups that my guests brought. I changed the recipe by using dry milk, not buttermilk, softening the yeast in all of the required water and adding the powdered milk with the flour. I also used canned dry eggs by the same method: the powdered eggs go in with a cup of flour, and the necessary liquid is added as water at the beginning. Then I use my Bosch to knead the large amount of dough. The rolls were fluffier than most rolls and browned beautifully. I will make this recipe often. I quadrupled the recipe and sent dozens home with my guests for New Year's Day sandwiches. The rolls were huge and worked for sandwiches and dinner rolls as well. This is a new standard recipe. I think they will roll out well for cinnamon rolls, too. I complement the chef. My husband said they were a triumph at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water, buttermilk (that I warmed with the water) and sugar for ten minutes, melted butter, egg and all the dry ingredients. I did need just a touch more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more, I had a little bit of an issue with the bread hook actually wanting to knead the bread dough in the mixer bowl. It kept wanting to kick the dough out! I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. I did get 12 large rolls, not nine out of this recipe. 400* for 15 minutes was absolutely perfect. HUGE dinner rolls that were a little different texture and flavor-wise from your typical bread rolls. That's not a bad thing, it's just different. Next time I make these, I might use another egg, just to see if that will get it to where it needs to be for me. It's almost there, flavor-wise. It's got the flavor of a croissant. I think it would be perfect with another egg. NOTE: Watch these in the oven, they do have quick minute or two where they could burn. I almost had that happen but I caught it just in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These are the best rolls I have ever made. Thanks for the receipe. It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious rolls! I followed directions except used oil (my flakes were butter flavored). I rolled them crescent roll style-no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I love these rolls. I have made them three times now and they just keep getting better. Light and fluffy and huge. I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand so this is what I used. I used two cups all purpose flour and one cup bread flour. Warm milk instead of buttermilk and Idaho loaded instant potatoes. They were wonderful. Please give this recipe a try you won't be disappointed. Either way as written or little changes this is a terrific recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States