High-Protein Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was good but the texture was a little gritty. I skipped the frosting and it was a pretty good crustless pumpkin pie look alike. It is a great recipe if you are looking to avoid wheat or want some extra nutritional punch from a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
AWESOME!!!!! Delicious!! Tastes like pumpkin pie to me. I omitted the icing and served with sugar-free cool whip and graham cracker crumbs. I also baked it in a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
You have to be open minded with this recipe, because the finished product has a distinct texture, that isn't cake or pie. I'm trying to eat "heart healthy" so the low sugar - high protein is great. I did alter a bit - I used 1/2 cup splenda brown sugar blend - and I found it a bit too sweet. Also, instead of pumpkin pie spice used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp cloves - plenty spicy, not bland at all. I did notice there was no salt and I added 1/2 tsp to balance the flavors. Oh, and maple sugar? Ended up using maple syrup instead. I don't know whether I'd make it again - unless if needed for gluten free dessert. There's just this after tast when you cook splenda that I don't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This tasted great! I used a cupcake pan, lined it with cupcake cup liners and used that instead of a pie pan. I also upped the spice by about 1/4 as a few reviews before said it tasted bland. It turned out wonderful! It was very much like a bite-size pumpkin pie and I served with light whipped cream on top instead of icing. Found it to be a little high on calories for a 'health' snack, but for a dessert under 400 isn't too bad and that's what I ate it as. Thanks for the unique and relatively healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I adore these already for being gluten- and dairy-free. However, they were very simple to make, used ingredients I had on hand, made for simple clean up (all thrown into the blender!), and my kids and I adored them. Did I mention they're good for your health? I made a half recipe and divided it among 12 cupcake wrappers filled half full. It didn't turn out cake-like but rather like mini pumpkin pies you could hold in your hand. My kids put whipped cream on them and ate them for breakfast. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Don't be fooled by the chickpeas (you can't taste them) or the word "cake" in the description. After the first time I made it, I realized that it was more like pumpkin pie. Just leave it in the pie pan and serve with whipped cream instead, which was better than the too sweet icing in the recipe. I made it again last Thanksgiving and offered it and a bakery pie and this one was preferred. I only use sugar, so I don't know if Splenda works well or not. I made it again today for Thanksgiving and replaced 2 of the eggs with Eggbeaters. We didn't see any difference. I didn't bother buying the "real" pumpkin pie and it wasn't missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
The frosting is the thing that makes this recipe edible; the torte is bland, even with the spices. I think if I were to make it again, I would double the spice (or at least one and a half it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
My sister made this for our Mother's Day tea since our Mom has a wheat allergy... EVERYONE loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is one of my favorite healthy desserts. I changed the frosting recipe using sugar free pudding mix, milk and cool whip to use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Moi Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States