High Protein Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is an excellent bread. I made it in my bread machine on the pasta/dough cycle, and baked it in my convection oven at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. I didn't have soy milk powder so I substituted skim milk powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
this bread is a hit,love it mmmmmm good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
A keeper! It was healthy without being too heavy. I used nonfat milk instead of soy, and next time I would double the recipe because it makes a small loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I was looking for a hearty, dairy-free bread for breakfast, and this was perfect. I made the recipe exactly and was very happy with the results. The only change I would make is scaling it to make a larger loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I increased the serving size to 20 and followed the recipe exactly and yet my bread didn't turn out that well. I did bake by hand, but that shouldn't make any difference. The main problem was that the bread mainly tasted of yeast. I'm used to baking with fresh yeast, but did use active dry yeast and the required quantity and yet, the bread turned out too yeasty. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This bread is fantastic! We don't have a bread machine, so my husband makes it the old fashioned way. Also we didn't have powdered soy milk so he used regular powdered milk and added about 1/8 cup flax seeds. This recipe is worth 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Excellent flavor. Very filling bread. I doubled recipe and made it by hand. Great with soup for dinner. Looking forward to toast tomorrow morning! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Did not rise. Very dry. But it did have a good hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delish! I didn't have wheat flour so I substitute it for half millet and half of soy flour.Cook it on regular cycle and dark top .It came out so good I am making it again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This looks like a real good bread to make but what those of us who have nor use a bread maker. Do you have something us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States