High Protein Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
a bit dry.. good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Pretty good bread. Very dense. I used grapeseed oil instead of canola and fat free dry milk instead of soy milk and may have had the breadmaker on the wrong setting for this, but -- I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Decided to substitute equal measures of whole wheat flour for the soy flour, and likewise the powdered soy milk for Carnation skim milk powder. The loaf turned out very well, with a nice crispy crust (on medium crust darkness) and a very tasty loaf. Definitely would make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made a few changes to the recipe to use things I already had in the pantry. Didn't have powdered soy milk, so just used a bit of regular milk. Also didn't mix this in the bread machine; did it by hand. Dissolved the yeast in warm (110) water and let stand until foamy...then proceeded. Allowed to rise approx. an hour, punched down, put in loaf pan, rise again for about 35 min and then baked at 350 until golden. My boys absolutely devoured it and I actually only got one small taste of it. The texture was perfect for toasting or a sandwich and had great flavor. Having another batch in rising so the rest of the family can enjoy some. Will be a keeper and probably a staple bread recipe for a long time in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This looks like a real good bread to make but what those of us who have nor use a bread maker. Do you have something us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delish! I didn't have wheat flour so I substitute it for half millet and half of soy flour.Cook it on regular cycle and dark top .It came out so good I am making it again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Did not rise. Very dry. But it did have a good hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Excellent flavor. Very filling bread. I doubled recipe and made it by hand. Great with soup for dinner. Looking forward to toast tomorrow morning! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This bread is fantastic! We don't have a bread machine, so my husband makes it the old fashioned way. Also we didn't have powdered soy milk so he used regular powdered milk and added about 1/8 cup flax seeds. This recipe is worth 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I increased the serving size to 20 and followed the recipe exactly and yet my bread didn't turn out that well. I did bake by hand, but that shouldn't make any difference. The main problem was that the bread mainly tasted of yeast. I'm used to baking with fresh yeast, but did use active dry yeast and the required quantity and yet, the bread turned out too yeasty. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States