High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Okay I followed the advice of other reviews and added two tablespoons more honey, 3 Tbs vital wheat gluten, and substituted 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour for part of the bread flour. And the result was a hearty healthy wonderful bread. Next time I make it I will take it out before it bakes and bake it in my oven because I like the regular loaf pans better then my bread maker pan. Thanks for the recipe. This will deffinatly be something I save and use. I just made it again and didn't put any molassas in it just used honey instead and it was amazing, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This was great! Very wholesome and filling. I substituted wheat bran for the all-bran cereal, with good results. The bread over-rose on my machine's wheat cycle, so next time I will use the regular white cycle. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I love this bread. I have a thick slice of it for breakfast every day. I have made it a bunch. All my houseguests have enjoyed it as well. I make a couple of changes - use half wheat and half white flour (1 3/4 c each), 1 3/4 c water, 3 tbs oil and 3 tsp yeast. I also add 3 tbs gluten as I don't have bread flour, just all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this because I'm on Weight Watcher's. It's a heavy, hearty bread that came out perfectly in my bread machine. It might be too "hearty" for kids though. My husband and I make it a couple of time a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2000
I have made this recipe many times and it is always enjoyed. It is hearty, flavorful and makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This recipe was very good, however, it lacks sweetness and had a minor bitter taste. I made modifications such as substituting granola for the bran cereal, powdered buttermilk for the powdered milk, and added 1 large egg which perhaps caused these taste. The texture was fabulous and next time I will add a little more honey. The powdered buttermilk is new to me, however, I have read that it adds great things to bread. By all means, you should try this hearty bread. Very filling. A sure repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This bread uses healthy ingredients; it is moist and has a nice texture and flavor. You can use different oat bran cereals as an ingredient, to vary the taste. I baked this bread in the oven on a baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I was worried about trying a recipe that didn't come with my breadmaker but it worked perfectly. It's a delicious, good for you, hearty bread that's great toasted too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This bread recipe was a great find. I've made it about six times now, following the recipe and it has turned out great! Nice texture and flavor and very healthy. It's the only bread we are eating now. Thanks Ron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States