High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is just what I was looking for - a dense, healthier bread that would be great with honey, for pre-workout and pre-run carbs. I made just a couple of substitutions: nonfat milk in place of water, since I don't have dry milk, and coconut oil for vegetable oil. I used a combination of All-Bran, wheat bran meal and 10-grain cereal. I also used the dough setting on the bread machine, and baked it in the oven (350 for about 25-30 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Nice bread with a great hearty texture and wholesome taste. I don't like things too sweet so I used only 1 tablespoon each of molasses and honey and then used only 1 teaspoon of salt. Use a good tasting bran cereal, one that you like, as this will make a difference in the taste of your bread. I crushed the bran flakes to a course consistency for better distribution and always use fresh ingredients for success. This bread made for great sandwiches and toast in the morning. In my opinion I thought it baked up to bakery quality and will be a recipe I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I thought this bread was wonderful and made the most delicious French Toast! My mother-in-law tried it and now I have to make her a loaf. I think I will try the suggestion of adding an additional 2 Tbsp of Honey - sounds even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This bread is the BEST! I make it once a week. I put it in the bread maker on the dough setting then bake for 33 min at 350F. I often will add 1/4C Flax seed for additional texture. This bread is dense and moist, everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good flavor. A recipe that can be played with and still have good results. A wonderful way to use up left over cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A very good basic bread. Only changes - cut the honey/molasses in half (diabetic) and used my dough cycle (don't like the shape loaf the machine bakes) and baked in the oven. Have made this a number of times - it has never failed, and have added it to my "keepers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Just took two loaves of this recipe out of the oven and the verdict: delicious! I made the recipe as listed except that I made it by hand instead of the machine, used 1 cup water and 1/2 cup milk instead of the dry milk powder, and baked the two 1 lb. loaves at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks to Jennifer for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is WONDERFUL bread. I threw in some ground flax, and used wheat bran instead of bran cereal, but otherwise followed the recipe as stated. I used the dough cycle and then baked the bread in the oven. Fantastic! I got 2 medium sized loaves out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Really good bread! I used wheat bran instead of whole bran cereal, and should have put it in my machine right after the liquids. I used the dough setting as I wanted to shape and bake my own loaf. (After removing the dough from the machine, I let it rise for 45-50 min, then baked it for 30 min. in a 350 oven.) This recipe could easily make 2 loaves. I made one HUGE loaf and hubby and I both agreed that it's the best whole wheat/bran bread to come out of the breadmaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is an incredible bread. It is a 2 lb bread and looks beautiful I followed the directions except I did not have dried milk so I just substituted a few tablespoons of the water with milk. This is our favorite wheat bread. Thanks Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States