High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2000
I have made this recipe many times and it is always enjoyed. It is hearty, flavorful and makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This recipe was very good, however, it lacks sweetness and had a minor bitter taste. I made modifications such as substituting granola for the bran cereal, powdered buttermilk for the powdered milk, and added 1 large egg which perhaps caused these taste. The texture was fabulous and next time I will add a little more honey. The powdered buttermilk is new to me, however, I have read that it adds great things to bread. By all means, you should try this hearty bread. Very filling. A sure repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This bread uses healthy ingredients; it is moist and has a nice texture and flavor. You can use different oat bran cereals as an ingredient, to vary the taste. I baked this bread in the oven on a baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This was great! Very wholesome and filling. I substituted wheat bran for the all-bran cereal, with good results. The bread over-rose on my machine's wheat cycle, so next time I will use the regular white cycle. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Thought it was a little heavy. perhaps another TB of honey to add to the sweetness would also help. Fortunately it's only 2 points on weight watches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I didn't notice this was for a 2 lb loaf and made it in a 1 and one-half loaf bread machine. But, still both my husband and I really loved it. It turned out great; moist and heavy, a man's (and this woman's) kind of hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
This bread is REALLY yummy. Lots of wholesome goodness. I did change a couple of things. I used 1/2 Cup whole wheat pastry flour for some of the bread flour. I added 3 TBS of gluten to help with the rise and also had my bread machine knead the bread twice. These changes resulted in a high, light loaf of wheat bread. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I love this bread. I have a thick slice of it for breakfast every day. I have made it a bunch. All my houseguests have enjoyed it as well. I make a couple of changes - use half wheat and half white flour (1 3/4 c each), 1 3/4 c water, 3 tbs oil and 3 tsp yeast. I also add 3 tbs gluten as I don't have bread flour, just all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this because I'm on Weight Watcher's. It's a heavy, hearty bread that came out perfectly in my bread machine. It might be too "hearty" for kids though. My husband and I make it a couple of time a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States