High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This recipe makes a moist, dense, high rise bread. The flavor is delicious and it has good crumb. Wonderful toasting bread and makes good sandwiches. I let the bread machine do the work, then shaped the loaf and baked in the oven at 375 degrees for 33 minutes in a 9X5 loaf pan. Thanks Jennifer. Great Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This bread recipe was a great find. I've made it about six times now, following the recipe and it has turned out great! Nice texture and flavor and very healthy. It's the only bread we are eating now. Thanks Ron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Wow..talk about a healty treat. Your sure to get a good bill of health after you've had a few of these... Adding flax and wheat really does do a body good and this is such a good recipe to play around with. Good job Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This is a very good, filling bread. I made it with honey only (no molasses) and put 1,5 tsp of yeast, as I was afraid the dough would rise beyond my bread machine capacity. It didn't with that amount of yeast. The next time, I'll use all the yeast called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Okay I followed the advice of other reviews and added two tablespoons more honey, 3 Tbs vital wheat gluten, and substituted 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour for part of the bread flour. And the result was a hearty healthy wonderful bread. Next time I make it I will take it out before it bakes and bake it in my oven because I like the regular loaf pans better then my bread maker pan. Thanks for the recipe. This will deffinatly be something I save and use. I just made it again and didn't put any molassas in it just used honey instead and it was amazing, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I was worried about trying a recipe that didn't come with my breadmaker but it worked perfectly. It's a delicious, good for you, hearty bread that's great toasted too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this because I'm on Weight Watcher's. It's a heavy, hearty bread that came out perfectly in my bread machine. It might be too "hearty" for kids though. My husband and I make it a couple of time a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I love this bread. I have a thick slice of it for breakfast every day. I have made it a bunch. All my houseguests have enjoyed it as well. I make a couple of changes - use half wheat and half white flour (1 3/4 c each), 1 3/4 c water, 3 tbs oil and 3 tsp yeast. I also add 3 tbs gluten as I don't have bread flour, just all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
This bread is REALLY yummy. Lots of wholesome goodness. I did change a couple of things. I used 1/2 Cup whole wheat pastry flour for some of the bread flour. I added 3 TBS of gluten to help with the rise and also had my bread machine knead the bread twice. These changes resulted in a high, light loaf of wheat bread. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I didn't notice this was for a 2 lb loaf and made it in a 1 and one-half loaf bread machine. But, still both my husband and I really loved it. It turned out great; moist and heavy, a man's (and this woman's) kind of hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States