High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Great texture, good taste. It rose up nicely, wasn't too heavy. Lacking a few ingredients, I made some substitutions. I used non-hygrogenated margarine instead of oil, skim milk instead of water and milk powder, and used All Bran for the cereal. Next time I'll maybe add a bit more molasses for a sweeter taste, and perhaps some ground flaxseed for extra fibre. Closer to 3 weight watcher points than 2, and that's not a very big piece, but still pretty good for bread. I'll definitely be making this one regularly. Tip for bread machine users - mix your flours and other dry ingredients ahead of time and store in airtight containers. When you want to make bread, just put in your liquid, dump in the container of dry ingredients and add the yeast. I generally have half a dozen batches made up in advance, saves time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I stuck to the original recipe and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this as is, only substituted butter for the oil. I would perhaps add a touch more honey next time around to sweeten the bread just a bit more. Very hearty. Even hubby liked it. Heck, even I liked it and I don't really care for very many breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Great Bread! I don't have a bread machine so I made it with the kitchenaide mixer and oven. It rose wonderfully and had a nice rounded top. Made this bread with 1 1/2 C milk instead of the water and powdered milk. Also added 1 1/2 tsp Gluten for each cup flour and baked at 350 for 30-35 min. and brushed top with butter. Made one with the bran and molasas and another with only honey and no bran. Both turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Excellent bread---nutritious and so good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Yummy! That's all I can say. This is one of the best breads I've made in my breadmaker. I followed the instructions on my breadmaker for the order of ingredients and presto it was ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Yummy Bread, with lots of flavor. I highly recommend it! I made it in the bread machine and then baked it in the oven. Next time I will make two loaves instead of one. It is very dense, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I wasn't too crazy about this bread right out of the oven but I love it toasted. It's definitely the best whole wheat breat I've ever made. I have a 1 1/2lb bread machine and made the dough in that and then finished it off in the oven. I made two round loaves, let them rise 20 minutes and then baked at 375 degrees for 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Love this bread! I followed it exactly except I didn't have any bran anything so I used one cup of "Honey Bunches of Oats" cereal. Came out great! It rose well, has nice coloring, great taste. Even my four and three year old kids fight over any piece of this! I made this while my husband was away on business and chances are there won't be any for him when he gets back, he'll just have to listen to us talk about how wonderful it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States