High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2000
I have made this recipe many times and it is always enjoyed. It is hearty, flavorful and makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This recipe was very good, however, it lacks sweetness and had a minor bitter taste. I made modifications such as substituting granola for the bran cereal, powdered buttermilk for the powdered milk, and added 1 large egg which perhaps caused these taste. The texture was fabulous and next time I will add a little more honey. The powdered buttermilk is new to me, however, I have read that it adds great things to bread. By all means, you should try this hearty bread. Very filling. A sure repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This bread uses healthy ingredients; it is moist and has a nice texture and flavor. You can use different oat bran cereals as an ingredient, to vary the taste. I baked this bread in the oven on a baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This was great! Very wholesome and filling. I substituted wheat bran for the all-bran cereal, with good results. The bread over-rose on my machine's wheat cycle, so next time I will use the regular white cycle. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Thought it was a little heavy. perhaps another TB of honey to add to the sweetness would also help. Fortunately it's only 2 points on weight watches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I didn't notice this was for a 2 lb loaf and made it in a 1 and one-half loaf bread machine. But, still both my husband and I really loved it. It turned out great; moist and heavy, a man's (and this woman's) kind of hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
This bread is REALLY yummy. Lots of wholesome goodness. I did change a couple of things. I used 1/2 Cup whole wheat pastry flour for some of the bread flour. I added 3 TBS of gluten to help with the rise and also had my bread machine knead the bread twice. These changes resulted in a high, light loaf of wheat bread. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I love this bread. I have a thick slice of it for breakfast every day. I have made it a bunch. All my houseguests have enjoyed it as well. I make a couple of changes - use half wheat and half white flour (1 3/4 c each), 1 3/4 c water, 3 tbs oil and 3 tsp yeast. I also add 3 tbs gluten as I don't have bread flour, just all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this because I'm on Weight Watcher's. It's a heavy, hearty bread that came out perfectly in my bread machine. It might be too "hearty" for kids though. My husband and I make it a couple of time a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States