High Flavor Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is just what I was looking for - a dense, healthier bread that would be great with honey, for pre-workout and pre-run carbs. I made just a couple of substitutions: nonfat milk in place of water, since I don't have dry milk, and coconut oil for vegetable oil. I used a combination of All-Bran, wheat bran meal and 10-grain cereal. I also used the dough setting on the bread machine, and baked it in the oven (350 for about 25-30 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Nice bread with a great hearty texture and wholesome taste. I don't like things too sweet so I used only 1 tablespoon each of molasses and honey and then used only 1 teaspoon of salt. Use a good tasting bran cereal, one that you like, as this will make a difference in the taste of your bread. I crushed the bran flakes to a course consistency for better distribution and always use fresh ingredients for success. This bread made for great sandwiches and toast in the morning. In my opinion I thought it baked up to bakery quality and will be a recipe I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I thought this bread was wonderful and made the most delicious French Toast! My mother-in-law tried it and now I have to make her a loaf. I think I will try the suggestion of adding an additional 2 Tbsp of Honey - sounds even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This bread is the BEST! I make it once a week. I put it in the bread maker on the dough setting then bake for 33 min at 350F. I often will add 1/4C Flax seed for additional texture. This bread is dense and moist, everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good flavor. A recipe that can be played with and still have good results. A wonderful way to use up left over cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A very good basic bread. Only changes - cut the honey/molasses in half (diabetic) and used my dough cycle (don't like the shape loaf the machine bakes) and baked in the oven. Have made this a number of times - it has never failed, and have added it to my "keepers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Just took two loaves of this recipe out of the oven and the verdict: delicious! I made the recipe as listed except that I made it by hand instead of the machine, used 1 cup water and 1/2 cup milk instead of the dry milk powder, and baked the two 1 lb. loaves at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks to Jennifer for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is WONDERFUL bread. I threw in some ground flax, and used wheat bran instead of bran cereal, but otherwise followed the recipe as stated. I used the dough cycle and then baked the bread in the oven. Fantastic! I got 2 medium sized loaves out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Really good bread! I used wheat bran instead of whole bran cereal, and should have put it in my machine right after the liquids. I used the dough setting as I wanted to shape and bake my own loaf. (After removing the dough from the machine, I let it rise for 45-50 min, then baked it for 30 min. in a 350 oven.) This recipe could easily make 2 loaves. I made one HUGE loaf and hubby and I both agreed that it's the best whole wheat/bran bread to come out of the breadmaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is an incredible bread. It is a 2 lb bread and looks beautiful I followed the directions except I did not have dried milk so I just substituted a few tablespoons of the water with milk. This is our favorite wheat bread. Thanks Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States