High Five Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
We L-O-V-E-D these! We made a couple of adjustments to the recipe. But they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I am so happy with this recipe, I don't know where to start! These rolls are absolutely perfect in every way. I followed the recipe and the "Cook's Note" and will never change a thing. We have been on a cinnamon roll kick lately and I have been searching for the perfect dough. THIS is it! So tender, they almost melt in your mouth. The orange flavor in the dough, filling and frosting is spot on. The cream cheese frosting...addictive. This recipe is also very easy and quick. They doubled in 1 hour on the first rise. I was serving these as dessert, so no overnight refrigeration. The dough is so easy to work with, that the rolling and filling took approx. 5 minutes to complete and they were in the pan for the second rise. They doubled in 25 minutes and into the oven they went. Exactly 25 minutes later they were perfectly baked and the wonderful orange aroma was filling the kitchen. We couldn't wait. My aunt and I stole a corner roll and ate it straight from the oven. I knew right there that there is no reason to search any further for the perfect recipe. rae, Thank You for sharing your outstanding High Five Orange Roll recipe. We will enjoy it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
WOW!!! I have never had orange rolls before. These are AMAZING! Thanks for sharing! I would say if you have never tried theses you NEED to. My daughter does not like oranges and she loves these. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My first orange rolls I've ever made. These are absolutely wonderful and my husband even likes them. If you have extra orange zest, use them for more flavor. I used about 3 T for the filling and added about 1 T to the frosting. I also used my bread machine, following the instructions to add the yeast and sugar to the warm milk/water mixture first and let stand about 5 minutes before adding to pan. I used a 9x13 pan and baked for 25 minutes. They filled the pan and turned out a little doughy in the center so next time I might reduce the yeast to 2 1/2 tsp - or use a bigger pan and make 18 instead of 12 rolls. I didn't use milk in the frosting because I forgot, but it didn't affect the quality. I'm anxious to share these with friends. Hope you enjoy them as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made these rolls before they were famous!!! This is my original review ~ These really are wonderful breakfast rolls, perfect light taste for summer Breakfast’s. I halved the recipe and made these in my bread machine, placing all the wet ingredients in first, followed with the dry. Once the dough cycle had finished I rolled out the dough, I did change the filling slightly to the one in the recipe. I melted the butter and added the orange extract to it (did not use the zest as I am not a fan) brushed this mixture on to the rolled dough, I then sprinkled with Brown sugar and cinnamon, topped with a handful of raisins. Rolled the dough and cut using a sharp bread knife (the halved recipe made 12 standard size rolls). I placed in the greased dish and covered with film, I let these rise for a further 30 minutes in my cold oven with the light on, removed and stored in the fridge covered overnight. The following morning I removed the rolls from the fridge and let sit on the counter for about 45 minutes to bring them to room temperature before baking. Once baking I started to make the glaze, I used 2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed orange juice in place of the milk and orange extract. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I know I will be baking them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've never made sweet rolls before and I decided to take the plunge with these! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect! I think I baked them for 30 minutes instead of 25 since I used a glass dish. Super yummy, this is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
A MUST! Wonderful! I saw this recipe and had to try it. It makes plenty so I knew I would have enough to give to a friend and enough for my family. I made the dough but erred several times. I didn't realize it only called for 1/4 cup of the pudding mix until AFTER I had already added the whole package. Also, while writing this review and re-reading the recipe...I discovered that I inadvertantly left out the salt. It made no difference. These stilled turned out wonderful. I divided the dough in two uneven portions just to make it easier for me to work with. The smaller portion I made into 9 rolls which I placed in a 9x9 inch pan. The larger portion I cut into 12 rolls and placed in a 9x13 inch pan. (I used a long piece of dental floss slid under the roll, criss-crossed on top and pulled to "cut" each roll. Works very nicely and keeps the rolls nice and round.) I placed the larger pan in the fridge to save and bake the next day. The smaller pan I let rise to bake the same day. We keep the house cool so I let them rise in a slightly warm oven (that had been turned on for just a minute then turned off) with a bowl of hot water on the rack underneath. After I baked and frosted them, hubby delivered them to my friend who raved. I couldn't wait to bake the second pan the next day for us. Well worth the wait! Makes more than enough frosting so I froze some for the next time. Do not leave out the zest as that adds a deeper orange flavor. I will also add zest to the frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
A terrific recipe! Absolutely perfect in every way. They were so delicious, I baked these rolls 3 times in less than a week. Once, I substituted white sugar with a generous sprinkling of brown sugar, ground cinammon, about 1/8 cup of orange juice and raisins in addition to what the recipe called for before rolling the dough. My husband begged me to put it away because he couldn't stop eating the rolls after they were baked. The rolls were soooo soft and the flavor was awesome! Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa.murakami
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
MAKE THIS ONE!!! Oh my gosh. I have tried a LOT of recipes ... I'm a food blogger and a stay-at-home mom with just 1 kid so far. And after our first bites, my husband and I both declared that it might be THE best recipe I have EVER made. I mean I this will definitely be THE Christmas morning recipe for my family, and I think I may even refuse to make it any month other than December just to keep a special Christmastime feeling in the taste. It is PERFECTION! I followed the directions exactly other than using 4 cups of bread flour and 2-3 cups of regular flour. Bread flour actually makes for a tougher, heartier dough and I like a little of the softer, stretchier aspects of regular flour in breakfast pastries. Yes, it took me about 6+ cups of flour, not 5. I added maybe another cup in the mixer and probably another cup kneading. I only kneaded 7 minutes because I kept having to add more flour. I was worried they'd be too dry... but they were perfect! I was also worried because the dough didn't taste amazing on its own, but it's ALL about the filling and frosting. The filling ends up caramelized at the bottom of the pan... SO GOOD. I also followed another reviewer who used one 9x12 glass baking/casserole pan and another smaller square one, greased bottom and sides, saving the smaller pan for another day. Basically these rolls are soft, moist, stretchy, sweet-but-citrusy perfection with a hint of savory (salt) in the cream cheese. You CANNOT go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Oh my. These rolls are absolutely heavenly! What a treat on a cold winter morning! I also subsituted fresh orange juice (from the zested orange) in the frosting for the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States