High Five Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Great orange flavor, but way too much butter in the dough, if I were to do it over I would have just stuck with my own cinnamon roll recipe and added the orange to it. Perhaps mine was just didn't turn out well, but it looked like the rolls couldn't keep there shape while rising because the butter made the dough too soft, also I could taste the butter in the finished product just as much as I could taste the orange and the bottoms of the rolls were crunch as a result of all the butter melting and hardening with the sugar. Cut butter in half and substitute oil or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Even my husband who is not fond of orange liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Tried this and didn't like it the middle was gross and did not taste good. The frosting was not that good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
As with many sweet bread recipes, this one is not sweet. The texture is good and makes a savory roll as there is only 1 tablespoon sugar. The measly amount of vanilla pudding is a waste, as it does nothing to enhance the flavor. It calls for no sugar, (like most rolls of this sort do) after rolling out and spreading the butter. I think it would be better to add 1/2 cup sugar to the dough, and sprinkling at least a 1/2 cup sugar to the dough before rolling up. The frosting was yummy. I got a dozen, and not the 18 as the original recipe stated. They were 4 inches in diameter, and about 2 1/2 inches high. Perfect size. They looked prettier than they tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Made for Christmas brunch. AMAZING!!!! skipped orange zest as I'm not a fan of it. could have cut frosting in half. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
These were fantastic! It's the first time in awhile that I haven't tweaked a recipe and I'm glad I didn't. I did have to add almost an extra cup of flour because the dough was too sticky to work with. Other than that, made exactly as written and it put those canned orange rolls to shame. Oh, just note that you have to roll the dough into a 27 x 12 inch rectangle, not 24 inches as the recipe states if you want 18 rolls. And you will want lots of these rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I tried this today and they were really good but I made some changes. First I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup (next time I may cut it down some more) I may also cut on the butter when I roll them up cause they did caramelize on the bottom when baked. I didn't add any butter to the frosting either. Just a little more milk and it was turned out real well. Trying to eat a little more healthy and still not give up the good stuff completely. They did make 18 rolls but I put them in 2- 9X13 pans & were still BIG rolls. Thank you for the good change from caramel rolls & I will be making them again. Glenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Fabulous recipe! Made the rolls exactly according to the recipe, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Turned out really well, even though I did a lot to screw it up. I forgot to add the melted butter while mixing the dough, so I ended up kneading it in at the end. This actually made it really easy to knead and I didn't need to use as much extra flour many other reviewers did. Kind of messy though. There is a lot of orange flavor, so if you want to taste the cream cheese in the frosting, leave out the extract there. We really liked it though. One problem we did run into was when I left them in the fridge over night a lot of moisture came out from the sugar/butter filling. They baked ok, but I ended up burning them a little on the bottom. Next time I think I'll try baking the same day and see if it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I did try these orange rolls. Despite not following directions they turned out GREAT. i PUT THE DOUGH IN THE FRIG OVERNIGHT BEFORE ROLLING THEM OUT. Forgot the orange juice in the dough so put itin the frosting. Also made some of the dough into cinnamon rolls with caramel frosting. UMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States