High Altitude Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I live at 7500 ft and they were great for me! (7/8 cup is 1 cup minus 2 Tbsps)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a wonderful brownie, gooey in the middle and crunchy around the edges. I used a 9x13 pan and I am so glad I didn't double the recipe, it was still pretty thick. I used 3/4c pecans and 1c chocolate chips. I cooked it for about 45 minutes, when the top cracked, it was perfectly done. My friends and I all raved about these brownies. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These are the best brownies I have ever made - very moist, chewy and "fudgy". I live at 10,500 feet and they turned out great at 38 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Oh my goodness I made these the other nite & I live near Boulder, CO and have always had difficulty perfecting the art of baking at high altitudes, however this recipe has converted me for sure!! I did follow the recipe exactly, though used semi-sweet mini chocolate chips instead of the regular and the brownies disappeared within a matter of days at our house, next time I might try dusting some powdered sugar very lightly on top, these are sublime and to me taste extremely similar if not better than those of a local bakery called Breadworks that is known for its exquisite brownies, now I can indulge at home as these are very inexpensive to make & amazing!! A+!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINEBREEZES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marissadanielle
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I live in Quito, which is 9895 ft above sea level. Brownies are one of the most difficult treats to make here. But, these passed the test. Not only against the altitude, but with all of my High School Home Ec students. Thank you for contributing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissadanielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Tried this recipe at about 6500' and were quite pleased with the result. Chewy and fudgy and delicious! Definitely add the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I live at 8,228 feet and have all but given up on baking. That being said, I have made these brownies 3 times with rave reviews. It's so nice seeing these come out of the oven without a big crater in the middle. They are super fudgy and chewy with that nice crackled top I adore. Not only that, they are easy to whip up if you need to bring something to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenNoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Mile High Excellence! As directed, I made 12 cupcake brownies. Filled about 3/4 of cupcake tin with batter. Covered with chocolate icing. Moist, delicious, and only a slight sink in the center. Notes - Allow melted butter to cool before adding the rest of the wetmix. Preheated oven to 400, then turned to 350 after putting in pan. Ovens drop temp quickly (50deg./10 sec.) with the door open. Do not open oven door while baking. Loss of heat pressure will cause collapse. -- Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made this recipe at 5000', it turned out great! The time was right on. The nuts and chips are an added touch, making the brownies even tastier. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Liked this recipe. Very easy and tasty. I did use veg oil though instead of all that butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States