High Altitude Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These took a lot longer to bake, even though they were in a larger pan (more surface area & thinner batter). The taste was alright, nothing extra special about "high altitude" brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Oh my goodness I made these the other nite & I live near Boulder, CO and have always had difficulty perfecting the art of baking at high altitudes, however this recipe has converted me for sure!! I did follow the recipe exactly, though used semi-sweet mini chocolate chips instead of the regular and the brownies disappeared within a matter of days at our house, next time I might try dusting some powdered sugar very lightly on top, these are sublime and to me taste extremely similar if not better than those of a local bakery called Breadworks that is known for its exquisite brownies, now I can indulge at home as these are very inexpensive to make & amazing!! A+!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINEBREEZES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These brownies are the single most delicios brownies i have Ever tasted! even if you're living at a low altitude (I live at less than 1,000 feet) they'll still taste great! The chocolate is VERY INTENSE!!!! It's very gooey and a little too runny but it's not like it's pudding. Overall it's PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These brownies are so delicious... I followed the recipe to a "T" and they turned out great. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Mile High Excellence! As directed, I made 12 cupcake brownies. Filled about 3/4 of cupcake tin with batter. Covered with chocolate icing. Moist, delicious, and only a slight sink in the center. Notes - Allow melted butter to cool before adding the rest of the wetmix. Preheated oven to 400, then turned to 350 after putting in pan. Ovens drop temp quickly (50deg./10 sec.) with the door open. Do not open oven door while baking. Loss of heat pressure will cause collapse. -- Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great recipe. I live about 5000 ft. I did use oil instead of butter, but otherwise followed the recipe. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I live at 6500 ft. The first time I made these brownies they turned out great - ever since no go! I follow the directions exactly as written and each time they sink in the middle. I've tried adjusting temperature and time but no luck. They taste good but look bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Worked great but I sometimes change butter to oil and it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
good, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I thought I had found the answer to my homemade brownie problem with this 'high altitude' recipe, but at 3500' this recipe didn't work well. I followed the measurements exactly and found that after 40 minutes these were still too runny inside. Next time I'll lower the heat and cook them longer. The flavour was wonderful though! And I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States