High Altitude Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by marissadanielle
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I live in Quito, which is 9895 ft above sea level. Brownies are one of the most difficult treats to make here. But, these passed the test. Not only against the altitude, but with all of my High School Home Ec students. Thank you for contributing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissadanielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I am at about 5700 ft here and I have never had an issue with the boxed brownies I usually make but I thought I'd try this recipe and see if there was something to it... I think they came out too "mushy". I did use a glass pan so I dont know if that matters? The taste overall was really good. They were chocolatey and everyone LOVED them. They didnt even last the night. I guess it just depends on what kind of brownie you are expecting. I wanted to frost them and put the nuts on top of the frosting but they were too soft. So the only thing I didnt do was use the nuts. I have been demanded to make these again though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I moved from Virginia to Colorado Springs 5 years aog and have since given up on trying toback brownies. Then I found this recipe... it worked out perfectly!!!!! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Finally a brownie recipe that works! I'm almost 7,000ft above sea level in Mexico. I am so excited....they were moist and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candycane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. We baked it in Bogotá, Colombia, at about 8,500 ft. The only problem was that it completely overflowed the 8x8 pan and went all over the bottom of the oven. Maybe this had something to do with the fact that we were using a smaller stand-alone oven that's originally designed as a rotisserie oven (since we don't have one built in) and we had the convection on for the first few minutes. Next time, we will make half a recipe for the same size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were okay. Like another reviewer said, I have had better brownies from a mix. The batter was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyparker216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These are the best brownies I have ever made - very moist, chewy and "fudgy". I live at 10,500 feet and they turned out great at 38 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I live at 8,228 feet and have all but given up on baking. That being said, I have made these brownies 3 times with rave reviews. It's so nice seeing these come out of the oven without a big crater in the middle. They are super fudgy and chewy with that nice crackled top I adore. Not only that, they are easy to whip up if you need to bring something to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenNoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Too cakey for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a wonderful brownie, gooey in the middle and crunchy around the edges. I used a 9x13 pan and I am so glad I didn't double the recipe, it was still pretty thick. I used 3/4c pecans and 1c chocolate chips. I cooked it for about 45 minutes, when the top cracked, it was perfectly done. My friends and I all raved about these brownies. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States