High Altitude Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I moved to Fort Collins in Nov 2010 from the East Coast. Until I found this recipe earlier this year, I thought I had to give up on baking brownies. This is the best brownie recipe EVER! I did use Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa though. I think next time I will use half regular and half dark because it was a little strong, even for me. I was in a hurry this last time I made them so I cranked the heat up to 375 deg for a while, mainly because I made a recipe and a half in order to put it in a 9X12 pan. I love the "adjust servings" feature on this website! Thank you so much Holly for sharing!! (Oh, the first time I made them, I had a friend who is lactose intolerant, so I used unrefined, organic coconut oil in place of the butter, and that gave them quite an interesting flavor.) If you are making these for a crowd, put a piece of folded foil in the middle and put half of your batter sans the nuts on one side, then add your nuts to the rest of the batter and add to the other side. You never know who doesn't like nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I'm so happy I found this recipe! I was losing faith in my brownie making abilities but these were delicious and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
These brownies are awful! they have the worst flavor I have ever experienced in a brownie. I am at 6500 ft in CO and I followed the recipe exactly and they were awful. They were moist and looked good, but it tasted kind of sour and had a lousy chocolate flavor. I am very disappointed in this recipe... I was really hoping they would be good, and a lot of the reviews praised it, but these brownies were awful... Even the uncooked batter had an odd taste. I have had such good luck with Betty Crocker, so I think I'll just stick with her... (Even our chickens wouldn't touch these gross so called brownies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Amazing. Best brownies I've made or tasted since moving to Denver. Thick, chewy, moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
It definitely turned out quite well! Although I must confessed that I cut the sugar further down to 1 cup because I really don't care for a super sweet brownie and used 1/4 cup each of butter, canola oil and apple sauce. Because of that the brownie did not turn out to be quite as fudgy as brownies are supposed to be but my husband and I both liked that very much still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Lets hope this works in Estes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I live at 6500 feet and these brownies turned out great! They were delicious...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe was off the chain!!! I used to make a different deep dish brownie recipe, until I lost the recipe in my move to another house, only these, that I found came out better than the other one did. Bye-Bye old recipe, hello new one!...:) This recipe was like having brownies that you would buy from a box. Chewy, moist, not crunchy, and oh so chocolately good. Thank You Holly8358! The Best!!! Next time I will double the recipe...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and they were fantastic!! We love brownies in my house and these were sooo good with the nuts and chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I live in Denver, and tried making brownies from a different recipe a few weeks ago but needless to say they didn't turn out. I was teaching a class yesterday and really wanted to make some fun treats for the kids, and stumbled across this recipe. They were GREAT! My husband liked them too. They didn't turn out cakey, they were nice and fudgy in the middle. Also added some chocolate chips. I followed someone else's advice on here and preheated my oven to 400, and then turned back down to 350 once they were in. They turned out perfect! I will definitely use this recipe again and again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States