High-Altitude Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Fabulous, reliable, can be made with oil instead of butter for those keeping kosher. I have a sea-level recipe that is not nearly as good...planning to try to adapt this one to sea level this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I live at 7500 feet, this bread turns out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipe. It only took 20 minutes to bake. I am sure this is because of my low altitude. Looks and tastes great. I am glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanRenae
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Love this bread, family loves it! Made 4 loaves this weekend, kept one at home, and took 3 to a church potluck. There's not even one slice left. Just a note... I use the leftover egg whites from the separated eggs to brush on the loaf before baking, works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macdoel, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe uses a ton of eggs compared to other challah recipes, and I love it for that. 45 minutes seems to be the right time for the second rise - one batch I rose for 1 hour 15 minutes and that was too much - it flattened out a little when baking. We live in New Mexico so we have an obligation to put green chiles in literally everything - I put 7 extra-hot chiles diced right into the dough before kneading and it came out unbelievably delicious and the whole house smelled like chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious! I live at 9500ft, this recipe turned out great! I can't stop eating it. Fast and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have used this recipe for a couple of weeks and it is wonderful! I live in Colorado, so it helps that you live here also! The only thing I change is how much flower I use, I only use 3 cups. When I use an extra half it gets a little to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We live at 5,280 feet, and this recipe worked perfectly for us! It looked gorgeous, too. We followed the directions exactly, except we braided the bread with 5 strands, and we sprinkled sesame seeds on top after the egg wash but before popping it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merlion
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Works great although I'm not sure it needs that much yeast. I used a mixture of WW flour, AP flour and bread flour. Also, there is enough to make 2 smaller loaves with this too. As this is my first challah, I'm not sure what is good and what isn't. This is overall a good bread for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States