High Altitude Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this recipe and without thinking did my usual adjustments for high altitude. They came out good and I did like the combination of chocolate chips (used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips) and banana. I don't like such a cakey cookie usually and next time will take some of the advice of other reviewers and hopefully will get a chewier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
LOVE this recipe. The second time I made it, I changed a few things to reduce the cakey quality of the cookies. I used wheat flour and allowed it to mix a bit longer to develop the gluten a bit for some chewyness. I used 3/4c of sugar and 3/4c of brown sugar. It made them a bit less crumbly. I liked the difference it made. Also, I added 4 bananas for more banana flavor. It didn't really seem to affect the texture of the cookies. Since cookie dough rises but doesn't spread very much, make sure you make them small when you put them on the sheet (so the outsides won't burn before they are done). Lastly, since I make the cookies small, I use mini chocolate chips so that the chocolate distribution is even. I think someone nailed it when they said these cookies taste like banana-chocolate-chip muffin tops, which is a big hit with me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were fantastic! The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made them a little healthier by using 4 tablespoons of butter and 1 cup of applesauce to replace the 1 cup of butter. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I also used 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. They turned out amazing and I feel less guilty than I did about the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
These cookies were delicious. I will definantly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very good, I used peanut butter chips instead of chocolate. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taradeann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craig, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Horrible, absolutely horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
BEST COOKIES EVER!!! I have lived in colorado my whole life and have never seen home made cookies come out this plump and soft. I did use peanut butter instead of bananas, because i didn't have any on hand. Plus it sounded good, and I figued it was about the same consistancy. They came out great, and I'm so excited I can't wait to make them for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These are fantastic! They are like eating muffin tops. I ended up using 1 really ripe banana and a nice yellow banana. These are done even if they are very light on top...I baked mine for about 8 minutes Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and at 7200 ft I have never seen a more fluffy cookie. They taste great and are nice and soft! I'll be making these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was my first time baking at a high altitude (over 8000 feet in Bolivia) and they came out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States