High-Altitude Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I also live in a high altitude area, one hour north of Denver. Baking desserts is sometimes precarious. Thanks for this exceptional recipe for Angel Food Cake. The directions were easy to follow. I was surprised how quicky the batter came together. The only little change I made was using 1/2 teaspoon almond extract rather than the lemon. Lo and behold this cake was moist, flavorful, and much more substantial than boxed or store bought Angel Food. I cooked up a cup of frozen raspberries, 1/2 cup sugar, and a tablespoon of cornstarch making a sauce to pour over the cake. My family loved it. This should do well in lower altitudes if the egg whites are whipped longer, and 1/4 cup less flour is used. This was my first attempt at home made Angel Food, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I forgot to mention that it is VERY helpful to line the bottom of your pan with parchment paper or waxed paper. I usually fold the paper in half, then in half again... and then cut it to look like a slice of pizza (using the radius of the pan to measure.) Once I have the right size, I'll cut the bottom for the center hole. This helps avoid leaving 1/2 of the cake in the pan. It tastes good either way, but it is prettier when it stays in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Absolutely delightful! This is my first stab at angel food cake baking. I researched and tried a recipe two nights ago from Allrecipes.com and it was a huge dud. Coarse texture, almost tough and not good taste. I then made this recipe the next night and oh the difference. I live in Thornton, Colorado, a north suburb of Denver, so the high altitude is always a challenge for cake baking. This recipe, however, has been adapted for our altitude and was amazing. Rose well, light texture, amazing taste. I took it for my friend's birthday cake and the 5 of ate and ate. I also used a recipe from Allrecipes for buttercream icing that was incredible. It is now our new favorite cake recipe, bumping dark chocolate cake out of first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellynn78
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Amazing cake! I live in the Denver area and this turned out great at our high altitude. I used A.P. flour and almond extract instead of lemon, and it's light, fluffy, and delicious! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was my first time ever to make a home-made angel food cake & it turned out great! I live in Denver & this recipe works for the altitude! I didn't have cake flour so I used 1 cup and 3 Tablespoons of regular flour & it still turned out fantastic! Great with frest fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a fool-proof recipe! I finished the batter and stuck the cake in the oven and while cleaning up the dishes, I came across 1/2 cup of egg whites that I had accidently omitted from the recipe!! It still came out great. I'm sure with the appropriate amount of egg whites, the cake would have been even lighter and fluffier; but, like I said it was still great. I did use almond instead of lemon, but I'm sure either would've been wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I live in Loveland, Colorado, on the front range of the Rockies. I have never had angel food cake made from scratch turn out for me. This one was perfect and Yummy! I used almond extract in place of orange and it was soooooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I love this cake. I live in Fort Collins Co just outside the Foot hills and this worked perfectly for me. I did increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
recipe worked well for me, although i did over bake it slightly the first time! my bad, not the recipe. the second time it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe! This was the first time i have ever made angel food cake and it came out absolutely perfect- a beautiful cake with great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States