High-Altitude Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I live in Loveland, Colorado, on the front range of the Rockies. I have never had angel food cake made from scratch turn out for me. This one was perfect and Yummy! I used almond extract in place of orange and it was soooooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I love this cake. I live in Fort Collins Co just outside the Foot hills and this worked perfectly for me. I did increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe! This was the first time i have ever made angel food cake and it came out absolutely perfect- a beautiful cake with great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
We raise chickens so I make a lot of angel food cakes with all the egg whites, and this is by far the worst ever! I double checked to see if I omitted any ingredients, but found I'd followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellynn78
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Amazing cake! I live in the Denver area and this turned out great at our high altitude. I used A.P. flour and almond extract instead of lemon, and it's light, fluffy, and delicious! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
It was pretty good. It kind of had a sour flavor to it so it would probably be better to add a little more sugar. Also, make sure you sift the flour into the batter because it will stay clumpy when you put it into there. Have a lot of eggs on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I also live in a high altitude area, one hour north of Denver. Baking desserts is sometimes precarious. Thanks for this exceptional recipe for Angel Food Cake. The directions were easy to follow. I was surprised how quicky the batter came together. The only little change I made was using 1/2 teaspoon almond extract rather than the lemon. Lo and behold this cake was moist, flavorful, and much more substantial than boxed or store bought Angel Food. I cooked up a cup of frozen raspberries, 1/2 cup sugar, and a tablespoon of cornstarch making a sauce to pour over the cake. My family loved it. This should do well in lower altitudes if the egg whites are whipped longer, and 1/4 cup less flour is used. This was my first attempt at home made Angel Food, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was my first time ever to make a home-made angel food cake & it turned out great! I live in Denver & this recipe works for the altitude! I didn't have cake flour so I used 1 cup and 3 Tablespoons of regular flour & it still turned out fantastic! Great with frest fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I forgot to mention that it is VERY helpful to line the bottom of your pan with parchment paper or waxed paper. I usually fold the paper in half, then in half again... and then cut it to look like a slice of pizza (using the radius of the pan to measure.) Once I have the right size, I'll cut the bottom for the center hole. This helps avoid leaving 1/2 of the cake in the pan. It tastes good either way, but it is prettier when it stays in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States