Hidden Valley Ranch Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made these to go with dinner tonight. At first I thought the ranch seasoning was a little strong, but then I started to like them more as I ate them. I didn't have a 1 oz packet but a larger container of seasoning, so I used 2 1/2 tblsp. of the seasoning. I liked how quick and easy they were to make in the microwave and no messy pot and water. I did lighten them up with whipped butter and low fat milk. The only down side is they were a little too salty, but I have that issue with all seasoning packets. I have seen recipes on here for homemade ranch powder, I may have to try one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Amazingly good and SO easy to make! Made this for my family and they all raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
If you like ranch and mashed potatoes, these are for you. My husband said he'd give them 9/10, but we can't give half stars. I boiled my potatoes in chicken stock instead of microwaving them. Also used sour cream plus a little water instead of milk (ran out). These were quite good, but I'm still stuck on creamy garlic mashed 'taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was an amazing recipe for delicious mashed potatoes! It was extremely easy, and I served it with a marinated pork tenderloin. It was the first mashed potatoes that I have made for my fiancee and they were a hit! Very rich flavor, and these will definitely become a staple in my weekly menus! Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very tasty taters. These went great with our ranch meatloaf. I like the fact that they didn't have a lot of added fat. I used 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup low fat sour cream just to make these creamier. The sour cream added a little more flavor as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We liked the flavor of these - it was a nice change from regular mashed potatoes. My only problem with this recipe was it seemed pretty dry. Next time I'll add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used more potatoes, maybe because mine were small--eight organic reds. I used my own homemade ranch dressing mix and I warmed my milk before using it. I didn't use the whole cup, just under. These were good, but I think it could use a spoonful of sour cream. It paired well with Mozzerella Meat Loaf and broccoli salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made these for easter dinner, tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Hendershot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I haven't made this exact recipe, but I make one very similiar that's awesome! I peel and boil potatoes, then mix in 4 oz cream cheese, butter, milk, and the ranch seasoning, and then whip until smooth! Very yummy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The kids (12, 10) gave it 5 stars. I loved that it was so quick. I used 6 red (new) potatoes and nuked for 8 mins, which was perfect. I added 1 cup milk and 3 tbsp homemade ranch dressing mix from AR; served with After Work Pot Roast. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States