Hidden Valley Ranch Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made these to go with dinner tonight. At first I thought the ranch seasoning was a little strong, but then I started to like them more as I ate them. I didn't have a 1 oz packet but a larger container of seasoning, so I used 2 1/2 tblsp. of the seasoning. I liked how quick and easy they were to make in the microwave and no messy pot and water. I did lighten them up with whipped butter and low fat milk. The only down side is they were a little too salty, but I have that issue with all seasoning packets. I have seen recipes on here for homemade ranch powder, I may have to try one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Amazingly good and SO easy to make! Made this for my family and they all raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
If you like ranch and mashed potatoes, these are for you. My husband said he'd give them 9/10, but we can't give half stars. I boiled my potatoes in chicken stock instead of microwaving them. Also used sour cream plus a little water instead of milk (ran out). These were quite good, but I'm still stuck on creamy garlic mashed 'taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was an amazing recipe for delicious mashed potatoes! It was extremely easy, and I served it with a marinated pork tenderloin. It was the first mashed potatoes that I have made for my fiancee and they were a hit! Very rich flavor, and these will definitely become a staple in my weekly menus! Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very tasty taters. These went great with our ranch meatloaf. I like the fact that they didn't have a lot of added fat. I used 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup low fat sour cream just to make these creamier. The sour cream added a little more flavor as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We liked the flavor of these - it was a nice change from regular mashed potatoes. My only problem with this recipe was it seemed pretty dry. Next time I'll add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used more potatoes, maybe because mine were small--eight organic reds. I used my own homemade ranch dressing mix and I warmed my milk before using it. I didn't use the whole cup, just under. These were good, but I think it could use a spoonful of sour cream. It paired well with Mozzerella Meat Loaf and broccoli salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made these for easter dinner, tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Hendershot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I haven't made this exact recipe, but I make one very similiar that's awesome! I peel and boil potatoes, then mix in 4 oz cream cheese, butter, milk, and the ranch seasoning, and then whip until smooth! Very yummy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The kids (12, 10) gave it 5 stars. I loved that it was so quick. I used 6 red (new) potatoes and nuked for 8 mins, which was perfect. I added 1 cup milk and 3 tbsp homemade ranch dressing mix from AR; served with After Work Pot Roast. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States