Hidden Secret Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
These were pretty darn good. I used Italian bread crumbs and omitted the egg and added about 1/4 of really cold, cold water. Just don't like my burgers tasting like meatloaf and the water makes for a juicier hamburger. The peppers gave a great jolt. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Delicious! I used pepper jack cheese instead of the peppers and monterey jack called for, and I was out of bread crumbs so I sub'd crushed corn flakes. Oh, and I threw in about a half a package of chili seasoning to the meat mixture. Served it with homemade buns (fron the site) and my hubby loved it =) Thanks for a great recipe! I'll defiantely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It was a bad idea to put jalapeno/chile peppers and cheese in the middle of the burger. The cheese has all melted out and it was not pleasant to bite into the hot stuff only in the middle. I would just add/mix jalapeno/chile peppers with ground beef so you can taste it with every bite (adjust the amount by your taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very Good. I made them exactly as stated, but cooked them on the stove top instead of the oven. They tasted like meatloaf. I made them for christmas dinner, and I got away with it. I called them Christmas burgers, because they had a red, white, and green present on the inside. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I have to give this only *** because as others said, it tasted more like meatloaf. So taking that into consideration I served it as meatloaf. I used habanero sauce for the hot sauce and I increased the amount of cheese to a cup! Then took the meat and divided it in half, flattened it out, put the topping on and covered that with the other meat portion. Made certain it was sealed all around so the cheese would not leak out. It was very good as supper and the next day we had it cold for sandwiches. If I rated it as a meatloaf I'd give it a 5*s !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Ok, well I didn't want to go to the store today, so I made a few substitutions - homemade hot sauce for Tabasco; diced chipotle peppers from a can; regular extra-sharp Cheddar - and although they were WAY too spicy for me, Husband really loved them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I changed the recipe a little to suit my taste - I didn't add the bread crumbs or egg and I threw in a couple tablespoons of worchestershire sauce and a dash of beer. Instead of using jalapenos, I used diced green chilis. They were awesome and I really appreciated the creativity of adding spice and cheese to the center of the burger. I made them for a big cookout and they were a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
These are awesome! Both me and my husband love them. I used some green chilies also in the pepper mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Very good burgers, only made one change by using shredded cheddar cheese instead of monteray jack. Came out slightly more well done than I generally like, will cook for a shorter time next time, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Pretty good - as other reviewers said, I thought it tasted more like meatloaf than a burger but my husband thought it was great. I used a slice of pepper jack (folded in half) instead of separate cheese and sliced peppers. Worked fine on the grill, be careful to get a good seal all the way around or you end up with a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States