Hidden Secret Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Very flavorful. This will definitely be one of our hamburger recipes we use. We are looking forward to sharing it with our family and friends at a summer cook-out. We did make a change. In lieu of the pickled jalapeno and fresh red chile pepper (couldn't find one), we used 1 finely chopped fresh green serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
After reading other reviews I decided not to add the egg and breadcrumbs so that it would not taste like meatloaf. I seasoned the meat and added the onions. Added Ortega chilies instead of jalapenos because dh cannot handle, but I put jalaps on my burger. Not bad. Will probably make again. Thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I didn't follow the recipe exactly because my family doesn't like spicy foods. I added chopped baccon to the cheese for the center and then I seasoned it the way I would if I were making a regular hamburger. But I did cook it the same way and they turned out great...my 2yr old actually ate the hamburger just to see what was inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Charles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrington, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These weren't bad burgers, but they weren't what we were looking for. Although the temp wasn't too hot, it was spicier than I would prefer my burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I changed the recipe a little to suit my taste - I didn't add the bread crumbs or egg and I threw in a couple tablespoons of worchestershire sauce and a dash of beer. Instead of using jalapenos, I used diced green chilis. They were awesome and I really appreciated the creativity of adding spice and cheese to the center of the burger. I made them for a big cookout and they were a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Pretty good - as other reviewers said, I thought it tasted more like meatloaf than a burger but my husband thought it was great. I used a slice of pepper jack (folded in half) instead of separate cheese and sliced peppers. Worked fine on the grill, be careful to get a good seal all the way around or you end up with a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It was a bad idea to put jalapeno/chile peppers and cheese in the middle of the burger. The cheese has all melted out and it was not pleasant to bite into the hot stuff only in the middle. I would just add/mix jalapeno/chile peppers with ground beef so you can taste it with every bite (adjust the amount by your taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I have to give this only *** because as others said, it tasted more like meatloaf. So taking that into consideration I served it as meatloaf. I used habanero sauce for the hot sauce and I increased the amount of cheese to a cup! Then took the meat and divided it in half, flattened it out, put the topping on and covered that with the other meat portion. Made certain it was sealed all around so the cheese would not leak out. It was very good as supper and the next day we had it cold for sandwiches. If I rated it as a meatloaf I'd give it a 5*s !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These were really good....but I should have read the reviews first and eliminated the breadcrumbs and egg....they were definitely meatloafy...but over all, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States