Hester's Red Velvet Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Easy to make. Light, fluffy and delicious. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a traditional Red Velvet Cake icing, sometimes called Waldorf-Astoria Frosting. Other versions use butter in place of Crisco, or have slightly more flour. I prefer the butter variety, but this version is stable at room temperature due to the Crisco, and the flavor trade-off is worth it when space in the fridge is at a premium. This was my first time refrigerating the milk/flour mixture and I can honestly say I won't do that again -- getting it that cold makes it hard to beat in without leaving bits behind, so room temperature works best for me. When doubling this recipe, do not double the liquid. I found that 1 1/2-1 3/4 cups milk was sufficient for a doubled recipe, and use whole milk if you can, so the fats bind to the flour rapidly, and you can do less stirring. Not doubling the milk when doubling the recipe is NOT a criticism of the recipe, just a rule of thumb for doubling frosting recipes in general. Thank you Carri G. for sharing your g-grandmother's recipe with us! P.S. Shortening has no flavor, so if yours has a flavor, throw it away and buy a new one, yours is going bad. Off-brands especially do this faster than regular Crisco. If your frosting has a weird TEXTURE that's different -- you needed to beat the sugar longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I used rice milk, cooked 1/4 cup sugar with the milk and flour and added 1/4 t salt and 3 T cocoa for an amazing chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I fully expected to not like this recipe. It just seemed odd to me, but I kept hearing great things about it so I decided to give it a shot. It is fantastic! Incredibly light, smooth, and delicious. Thanks for opening my eyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I've never written a review here before, but this recipe stunned me into amazement so I had to share. I ran out of icing sugar and needed a last minute recipe to make some cupcake frosting before running off to a pot-luck. Looking at this recipe I was skeptical that it would work, but had little other choice. Even as I was mixing it together, I envisioned a granular crunchy icing. I couldn't have been more wrong. This was so silky, smooth and delicious! It's better than my go-to icing recipe even. I may never buy icing sugar again. I did make a couple modifications: I used half a cup of butter and half a cup of vegetable shortening, and I didn't have any milk so I used half a cup of whipping cream and half a cup of water. Sooooo delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Finally!! This is the only (and best) way to frost a Red Velvet Cake. I grew up in the South and this is the way we like our RV Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackshear, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is the best and the Original Recipe, which was handed down in my family 3 generations. This is the true icing for Red Velvet Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I have made this icing 2 times now, the first time I made it with half butter and half softening. We really liked it, but I was still concerned about eating so much softening. The second time I used all butter and added cocoa powder. WOW, It was the best icing ever!!! This is now my go to icing. No more icing powder for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I love this icing!!!! This is what my mother and grandmother made for the red velvet cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
My mom and I have made this frosting for years. It is our frosting of choice for all cakes. It is especially good on the Hot Milk Sponge Cake. We add a teaspoon of Butternut flavoring as it enhances the taste. Also, when creaming the shortening and sugar, make sure the mixture is very smooth and not grainy! The longer you beat the frosting after you add the "paste" the fluffier the frosting. To Luv2cook: try using butter in place of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Make a Golf Cake

Make this cool green cake for the putter in your life.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States