Hester's Red Velvet Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a traditional Red Velvet Cake icing, sometimes called Waldorf-Astoria Frosting. Other versions use butter in place of Crisco, or have slightly more flour. I prefer the butter variety, but this version is stable at room temperature due to the Crisco, and the flavor trade-off is worth it when space in the fridge is at a premium. This was my first time refrigerating the milk/flour mixture and I can honestly say I won't do that again -- getting it that cold makes it hard to beat in without leaving bits behind, so room temperature works best for me. When doubling this recipe, do not double the liquid. I found that 1 1/2-1 3/4 cups milk was sufficient for a doubled recipe, and use whole milk if you can, so the fats bind to the flour rapidly, and you can do less stirring. Not doubling the milk when doubling the recipe is NOT a criticism of the recipe, just a rule of thumb for doubling frosting recipes in general. Thank you Carri G. for sharing your g-grandmother's recipe with us! P.S. Shortening has no flavor, so if yours has a flavor, throw it away and buy a new one, yours is going bad. Off-brands especially do this faster than regular Crisco. If your frosting has a weird TEXTURE that's different -- you needed to beat the sugar longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I fully expected to not like this recipe. It just seemed odd to me, but I kept hearing great things about it so I decided to give it a shot. It is fantastic! Incredibly light, smooth, and delicious. Thanks for opening my eyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I've never written a review here before, but this recipe stunned me into amazement so I had to share. I ran out of icing sugar and needed a last minute recipe to make some cupcake frosting before running off to a pot-luck. Looking at this recipe I was skeptical that it would work, but had little other choice. Even as I was mixing it together, I envisioned a granular crunchy icing. I couldn't have been more wrong. This was so silky, smooth and delicious! It's better than my go-to icing recipe even. I may never buy icing sugar again. I did make a couple modifications: I used half a cup of butter and half a cup of vegetable shortening, and I didn't have any milk so I used half a cup of whipping cream and half a cup of water. Sooooo delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I have to agree with another viewer that this frosting tastes too strongly of shortening. It actually has left an aftertaste in my mouth, so I will have to try something else for my red velvet cupcakes. I suggest maybe using butter instead in this recipe. It is easy to make, but not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Easy to make. Light, fluffy and delicious. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I used rice milk, cooked 1/4 cup sugar with the milk and flour and added 1/4 t salt and 3 T cocoa for an amazing chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The frosting was easy to make and had a good texture. However, the taste was disappointing. It had a strong after taste of vegetable shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinnyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is similar to the filling in good old fashioned twinkies and the original filling type for Whoopie Pies(or Gobs) before the invention of Marshmallow Fluff. To tweak this recipe for flavor: add 1 cup of real butter to the existing ingredients, the shortening must be the Crisco brand or it really doesn't have quite the same flavor/texture,(using butter flavored crisco instead of butter AND Crisco doesn't seem to work). Change the white sugar to powdered sugar and double it to 2 cups, it won't be overly sweet. The powdered sugar also has cornstarch in it that will help to thicken the mixture. The flour can be cut back to 2 Tbsp because of the powdered sugar effects. Double the vanilla to 2 tsp, use clear vanilla if you would like a really white frosting. A faster way than to "cook"(Ermine or boiled milk frosting method): have all ingredients at room temperature. Using a stand mixer (helpful as the mixing process can be long)keep mixing until frosting comes together. (a hand mixer can be used, just have to stand there mixing and mixing for quite some time). The mixture starts off as a runny, globby mess, and the longer it is mixed, it magically comes together into a fluffy white frosting. Depending on the size of the cake, all of the recipe ingredients could be cut in half. One reviewer made an excellent observation, this frosting IS stable at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is the best and the Original Recipe, which was handed down in my family 3 generations. This is the true icing for Red Velvet Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I thought I would give this a go as I had never made this type of frosting with shortening. It tasted too much of shortening for me. I added about 1.5 tbl of vanilla to try mask the flavour. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Make a Golf Cake

Make this cool green cake for the putter in your life.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States