Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
While it is very dark chocolate colored, the chocolate flavor just isn't there for me. Very dense cake. I made cupcakes and the tops were very sticky. Thanks anyway. It is also the same recipe as the Extreme Chocolate Cake here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
SOOOO Good. Greatest chocolate cake recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
5 STARS ALL THE WAY! This is the best chocolate cake and frosting I have ever made! I had tasted the frosting when my mother made it so I knew I would love it. However, when I made it, it was thinner; so, a call to Mom and her secret was out. You have to beat it a long time until it gets fluffier. So good!! Thank you Hershey's for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
My first attempt at making a cake from scratch and the result...The best chocolate cake I ever had! I also tried to make cupcakes with this same recipe, but those turned out a little dry. Cake though...Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I am giving the frosting 5 stars. I have not tried the cake yet but I did use the frosting on vanilla cupcakes and it was really good. I will probably make this my go to chocolate frosting recipe. It is a very sweet fluffy chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made the following changes: substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil; substituted espresso for the water; substituted Special Dark cocoa for the regular (Dutch process cocoa). The icing for this is really great. Husband totally digs this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This chocolate cake is awesome. I made a baby rattle cake for my baby shower and used vanilla icing...Delicious. I found myself craving chocolate again so I made this cake but I put peanut butter frosting in between the 2 layers. I frosted the whole cake in chocolate and then crushed reese cups on top. I kept the cake in the frig due to the milk in the frosting and I didnt want the peanut butter cups to melt. It was great with a glass of cold milk :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have found this recipe to be wonderful every time I prepared it! I also agree that following the directions exactly as written is the key to the best results. The only part I occasionally vary is the chocolate frosting for peanut butter frosting : ) Both top this perfect chocolate cake very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is the only chocolate cake recipe I use anymore! It's perfect every time. I follow the directions exactly. It's great for cupcakes as well as the multilayer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been making this for years! WONDERFUL AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melantodd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States