Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The frosting is so delicious.. But I only added about 190gms of icing sugar...which is half of what the recipe states..I suggest that those who prefer a more deeper bittersweet chocolate flavor to do that too.. and add a little more milk instead...the cake however was very moist so it sort of crumbled as i tried to make a two layer cake..so its impt that u let it cool completely before frosting it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This cake is out of this world and so is the frosting. So moist. The frosting is perfect. I love this recipe and I followed it just as it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i've been making this cake for years and it is so much better than boxed cake - so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Soooo moist and delicious... It was better 2 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I've made this over and over...don't know how I haven't memorized the recipe yet. It's definitely moist and chocolaty. It's just a little hard to spread icing on it because it's so moist. Otherwise, it's my go-to chocolate cake recipe for the longest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This has to be THE best chocolate cake and chocolate icing I have ever had! Very moist, not too sweet, absolutely perfect! My husband and daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It is absolutely that good,and the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. I worked at a high end local bakery and this was the recipe they used!! Need I say more. You'll never bake another chocolate cake after you've made and tasted this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
WOW. (And I know my cakes.) Even the frosting, I mean really, I couldn't believe how good this cake is (and I didn't even make it). This recipe is the best, bar none. A friend of mine made it & told me where she got the recipe - from the back of the Hershey's Cocoa tin! The cocoa is unusually dark - almost purple, but the end result is just fantastic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
i've made this cake and it was great. my mom asked me to bake this on my niece birthday AND HELP: what will i use for the lettering like ?hoping for replies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
For cake only, not the icing: I've tried about 10 different recipes for the perfect from scratch chocolate cake and this was the best by far! I followed the directions exactly no subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States