Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by TrixieDarty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I liked this cake, but I also thought the icing was very sweet! I dont know if there is anything to do to change it, but if you like very sweet things, this is the cake for you! :) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieDarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This cake was rich, dense, and moist... everything I want in a chocolate cake. I put a layer of chocolate ganache between the two cakes, and then frosted with a seven minute frosting. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The frosting is so delicious.. But I only added about 190gms of icing sugar...which is half of what the recipe states..I suggest that those who prefer a more deeper bittersweet chocolate flavor to do that too.. and add a little more milk instead...the cake however was very moist so it sort of crumbled as i tried to make a two layer cake..so its impt that u let it cool completely before frosting it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This cake is out of this world and so is the frosting. So moist. The frosting is perfect. I love this recipe and I followed it just as it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i've been making this cake for years and it is so much better than boxed cake - so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Soooo moist and delicious... It was better 2 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I've made this over and over...don't know how I haven't memorized the recipe yet. It's definitely moist and chocolaty. It's just a little hard to spread icing on it because it's so moist. Otherwise, it's my go-to chocolate cake recipe for the longest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This has to be THE best chocolate cake and chocolate icing I have ever had! Very moist, not too sweet, absolutely perfect! My husband and daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It is absolutely that good,and the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. I worked at a high end local bakery and this was the recipe they used!! Need I say more. You'll never bake another chocolate cake after you've made and tasted this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
WOW. (And I know my cakes.) Even the frosting, I mean really, I couldn't believe how good this cake is (and I didn't even make it). This recipe is the best, bar none. A friend of mine made it & told me where she got the recipe - from the back of the Hershey's Cocoa tin! The cocoa is unusually dark - almost purple, but the end result is just fantastic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States