Hershey's ® Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
At my restaurant we serve a special, romantic dinner for two every year for Valentines Day. This mousse is always the dessert. It's so rich and creamy, it feels like silk in your mouth I've lost track of the number of times I've been asked for the recipe. Use the gelatin, it stabilizes the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSJEN
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
By far the best mousse recipe I tried. I was hosting a party at which 2 pregnant ladies would be in attendance, so I went searching for a mousse recipe that called for neither alcohol or egg whites. I was delighted to have found this one and it has since become the primary mousse recipe in my home. I reduced the sugar amount ever so slightly because I like a more rich cocoa taste. I spooned it in to a huge zip loc bac and refrigerated to cool. When it came time to serve, I sliced the corner off the bottom of the bag and squeezed in to chilled martini glasses. I topped with a dollop of cool whip (dispensed the same way), a raspberry and chocolate sprinkles or chips and had a very simple, elegant presentation. It received rave reviews from my guests and my husband has not stopped asking me to make it, since. The gelatin is, in my opinion, a necessary step to give it the perfect texture. This is an easy to make moose that is difficult to ruin, and which will be sure to please your family and guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This was amazing! it literally took only minutes to make, and was sooo fabulously chocolately...it held up well too, was still good after two days (I made it in advance for a meeting; otherwise it would never have lasted that long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This is delicious! I doubled the recipe and it made 4+ big servings. I added a dollop of cool whip to the top- next time I won't because it doesn't need it! It's delicious all by itself. Served with a few fresh blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Excellent!!! This dessert couldn't possibly be any easier to make, and it tastes phenomenal. I like to put generous spoonful of mousse into a glass, add a layer of fresh berries, then add another spoonful of mousse. Just before serving, I top it with whipped cream and chocolate shavings. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This was the best chocolate mousse. Not too sweet with in a pie shell. I doubled the recipe and put it in a pie shell with whipped cream on top and some shaved chocolate. It made the best chocolate mousse pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Nice texture but I thought it had a little too much "cocoa" flavor. It completed my four salad luncheon meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This was good and easy. I used real vanilla, which gave it a cinnamon flavor, so next time I'll use imitation vanilla. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I love chocolate mousse and this recipe is fantastic. For all who live in Australia where we cannot get Hershey's Cocoa Powder I used Cadbury Cocoa Powder and everyone said it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this as a post-Thanksgiving dinner dessert this year. Given past reviews, I doubled the recipe, but it's so rich that the servings actually need to be smaller. However, we all loved it! A strawberry or raspberry puree on top would be a delicious garnish -- but this mousse is a 10 all by itself as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States