Hershey's ® Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Fantastic recipe, however I found it a bit too sweet. I'm about to make it again this weekend, and will cut the sugar in half. Incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was fantastic and not very difficult. I modified to 24 servings and it made about 16 servings. I cut sugar in half it was the perfect sweetness. Used a sifter for the cocoa and think that helped a lot to keep out any lumpiness. Also didn't have any trouble with the gelatin as long as it was sprinkled and stirred well. You can make a garnish to stick in prior to serving with melted chocolate drizzled onto waxed paper and refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This was good and very easy. Great dessert to serve after a heavy meal. I used half the amount of sugar called for so it was very chocolately, not sugary. Yum! Also, I tried this with the raspberry sauce another submitter suggested and I didn't like it with the mousse and neither did my dinner guests. It was too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner for friends. It was very good and had a very smooth texture. I sifted the cocoa (Ghirardelli) prior to mixing. I did not have any problems with "lumpy" gelatin after sprinkling evenly over the water and stirring well after adding the boiling water. This was easy to make relative to other chocolate mousse recipes. I also halved the sugar as recommended and found it plenty sweet. As noted by others, the quantities are very small. I would recommend converting the recipe to 10-12 servings if you need 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I liked this mousse - cut the sugar in half and doubled the recipe for 5 people. Served with raspberries and cinnamon whipped cream. Might try this as a filling for cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
They don't sell Hersey's cocoa here, so I used Fry's cocoa. I also added the raspberry sauce suggested in another review for a topping. It was pretty good, but it needs a few hours to set completly - not the 1/2 hour stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This is a very quick and easy crowd pleaser. It always gets rave reviews and I often get asked for the recipe. The only thing I've change is to add a little bit of cinnamon, but I love cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Took this to an open house and it was a huge hit! Multiplied the recipe by 4 and reduced the sugar a bit. Didn't miss it...it was perfect. Let my gelatin cool too much so I just stuck it in the microwave for a few seconds. Topped it with cool whip and chocolate shavings..so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKELLYATL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This recipe turned out PERFECT, and we all LOVED it! It was even better with raspberry sauce that I made: 10 oz. package frozen raspberries (do not thaw) 1 Tablespoon raspberry juice or water 1 1/2 tsp. cornstarch 1 Tb. orange zest 1/4 c. sugar (more or less to taste) In medium saucepan over med-high heat, cook raspberries for 5-8 minutes, turn down to medium and add sugar. In small bowl combine juice & cornstarch to make a paste, add to raspbery mixture stirring constantly until thickened. Add orange rind, cool. Make ahead of time, keep in fridge, and spoon over mousse when ready to serve. (Adapted from Lesley's Valentine Brownies with Raspberry Couli)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I used this recipe to ice a chocolate angel food cake made from scratch and it was delicious! Everyone was asking me to make it for their birthday cakes and whatnot. The only thing I did wrong was not sifting the cocoa. There was little tiny balls of cocoa in the mousse but even that didn't ruin it for us. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States