Hershey's ® Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I was not impressed with this recipe. The flavor was more like a frosting than a mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSJEN
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
By far the best mousse recipe I tried. I was hosting a party at which 2 pregnant ladies would be in attendance, so I went searching for a mousse recipe that called for neither alcohol or egg whites. I was delighted to have found this one and it has since become the primary mousse recipe in my home. I reduced the sugar amount ever so slightly because I like a more rich cocoa taste. I spooned it in to a huge zip loc bac and refrigerated to cool. When it came time to serve, I sliced the corner off the bottom of the bag and squeezed in to chilled martini glasses. I topped with a dollop of cool whip (dispensed the same way), a raspberry and chocolate sprinkles or chips and had a very simple, elegant presentation. It received rave reviews from my guests and my husband has not stopped asking me to make it, since. The gelatin is, in my opinion, a necessary step to give it the perfect texture. This is an easy to make moose that is difficult to ruin, and which will be sure to please your family and guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Yes, it's very sweet. A bit sugary. But a very good, traditional chocolate mousse. Dang, it's good. Suitable for serving with fruit (I did for a party) or as a fancy dessert in a nice cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Simple to make and tastes great! I made this as part of a birthday meal for my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Awesome mousse. If you are a novice, make sure you remember to blend the gelatin in really well to make sure it's creamy. Even better if you let it harden for more than 30 mins in the fridge. Excellent mousse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I always quadruple this recipe to (almost) fill a standard size trifle dish, refrigerate for 30 minutes or more, then top with softened whipped topping, then refrigerate at least 30 minutes more before serving. My hubby says it's better on the second day which is a PLUS for a dinner party - Make it the day before you want to serve it, cover well with plastic wrap, (try to hide it in the frig from your family). It is not as sugary on the second day so I like to make it the day before I need it. Other than quadrupling the recipe I follow it as printed then add the whipped cream. I garnish with chocolate sprinkles on top of the cool whip or sliced strawberries around the top edge of the triffle dish. Everyone will think you are a trained chef and all will want the recipe. Best of all - this is so easy to make! My husband and our friends always fight over who gets to take the last of the mousse home (if there is any left) so last year I bought several nice, but inexpensive triffle bowls at a discount store, filled the bowls with this recipe and attached the recipe to the stem of the bowl. It was a huge hit for a (mostly) homemade Christmas gift for our close friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Absolutely delicious. My family cannot get enough of this wonderful dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I loved how simple this recipe was and how delicious the mousse tasted. The first time I made it, it was just a bit too sweet for my taste so I cut back on the sugar second time around, as many others had suggested. I doubled the recipe and used 2/3 cup of sugar and it was GREAT! It got rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
So good but so filling. I also doubled the recipe because it looked so skimpy in the cups but then I could not finish what I had in my dessert dish. Will have to buy smaller dessert cups. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
BLAH! This did not work out for me. I ended up with chunks of unflavored gelating CHUNKS in the "mousse". Mine did not have the fluffyness, if you will, of mousse. VERY bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States