Hermits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made these for a Holiday Craft Party. I usually use a recipe from a famous local bakery but wanted to try something different. The cookies were a huge hit. There was actually a bit of a scuffle to see who would get the last one. That debate was decided by the flip of a coin! I didn't add nuts since I was unsure of any allergies. I also left out the raisins since the host of the party doesn't like them. I sprinkled confectioner's sugar on the top and was told that it was better than icing. I am making batch two and three today for the next cookie swap and party. I also froze the first batch. Took them out of the freezer two hours before they were needed and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This recipe was great! i diden't add any raisins, so they came out like gingergread brownies. Fantastic!!! next time i'll add just a drop less sugar,,I think less sugar definately if you add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newberrrys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These are really very good and I'll make them again! This first time around, I made them without walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Clouter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
baked in a 10"x15" cookie sheet the bars were dense, moist & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Made these for the 1st time - find the molasses flavour a bit overpowering. Cooked for 10 minutes - will make again and reduced molasses to 1/3 cup. Thanks for sharing. Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Definitely a good start to an old fashion hermit like my Nana's. I felt it needed more spices and definitely more molasses and I think I will try brown sugar vs. white next time to get that spicey bite. I omitted the nuts due to an allergy and more than doubled the raisins. I also rolled them in a coarse sugar and they turned out beautiful. Cooked perfectly @ 14 min. Don't leave them on the pan too long or the will break/crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I have always loved hermits, plus they are so easy to make. I had never put in molasses before, but they were deeelish! I did have a little trouble tasting the raisins and nuts as the molasses does have a strong taste. But despite that, they were awesome. Thank you for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The recipe itself is fine but for drop cookies, 12 - 15 @ 375 is WAY too much. Took them out at 6 minutes otherwise they would have been charcoal. I dropped the oven temp to 325 and went for about 10 to 12 minutes and that seemed to work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLEEC

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Made these over Christmas as my husband requested them. He remembered having them as a child and had not had any in years He was so happy as these tasted just like he remembered !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I did these as bar cookies and they were wonderful. Just spread the dough in a jelly roll pan, then cut carefully into even squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States