Hermits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made these for a Holiday Craft Party. I usually use a recipe from a famous local bakery but wanted to try something different. The cookies were a huge hit. There was actually a bit of a scuffle to see who would get the last one. That debate was decided by the flip of a coin! I didn't add nuts since I was unsure of any allergies. I also left out the raisins since the host of the party doesn't like them. I sprinkled confectioner's sugar on the top and was told that it was better than icing. I am making batch two and three today for the next cookie swap and party. I also froze the first batch. Took them out of the freezer two hours before they were needed and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This recipe was great! i diden't add any raisins, so they came out like gingergread brownies. Fantastic!!! next time i'll add just a drop less sugar,,I think less sugar definately if you add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newberrrys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These are really very good and I'll make them again! This first time around, I made them without walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Clouter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
baked in a 10"x15" cookie sheet the bars were dense, moist & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Made these for the 1st time - find the molasses flavour a bit overpowering. Cooked for 10 minutes - will make again and reduced molasses to 1/3 cup. Thanks for sharing. Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Definitely a good start to an old fashion hermit like my Nana's. I felt it needed more spices and definitely more molasses and I think I will try brown sugar vs. white next time to get that spicey bite. I omitted the nuts due to an allergy and more than doubled the raisins. I also rolled them in a coarse sugar and they turned out beautiful. Cooked perfectly @ 14 min. Don't leave them on the pan too long or the will break/crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I have always loved hermits, plus they are so easy to make. I had never put in molasses before, but they were deeelish! I did have a little trouble tasting the raisins and nuts as the molasses does have a strong taste. But despite that, they were awesome. Thank you for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The recipe itself is fine but for drop cookies, 12 - 15 @ 375 is WAY too much. Took them out at 6 minutes otherwise they would have been charcoal. I dropped the oven temp to 325 and went for about 10 to 12 minutes and that seemed to work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Caglioti

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Made these over Christmas as my husband requested them. He remembered having them as a child and had not had any in years He was so happy as these tasted just like he remembered !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I did these as bar cookies and they were wonderful. Just spread the dough in a jelly roll pan, then cut carefully into even squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States