Hermit Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These were OK. Not the best cookie ever, but not the worst. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and I felt they lacked something. They were not super sweet or super flavorful, just kind of average. So I made the "Vanilla Glaze" from this website and drizzled it over the top of the cookies. This fixed them and made them really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent Hermits! I did refrigerate for about 45 minutes before cooking and they came out perfect. Added some extra raisins :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These bars are wonderful. I did not change a thing in this recipe. They seemed to have the perfect blend of spices and I love the texture. I loved the "biscotti" way of making them. I have enough molasses left to make them one more time. Thank you AUNT MAMIE for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These are just like the Hermit's we had as kids and we LOVE them !! I do as many have suggested and add an extra 1/2 cup of flour and they come out perfect! To make it easier, we just drop balls of the dough and make round cookies. This just saves a little extra time. This recipe rocks !! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was OK. I made it for a high school bake sale because the reviews were so good but then I was disappointed. If I had to describe it, without the raisins, the texture reminds me of the walls of a gingerbread house we make at Christmas. As for the taste, it tastes like a graham cracker but with a lot less sugar and a lot less crispy. This is a soft cookie but crispy on edges. I drizzled some white almond bark on top and woh did it make a difference. It made a good presentation and actually brought out the flavors of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gordie
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
One of my favorites from my childhood.The coffee is an improvement to what I thought was great recipe (same as Mom's). I did use whole wheat flour,added an extra 1/4 cup of flour & plumped the raisins in the coffee. The recipe has a permanent place in my recipe box!!!Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These were EXACTLY what I was looking for when I went searching for a hermit cookie recipe. I added dried cranberries and walnuts and replaced the cinnamon and cloves with pumpkin pie spice, and cooked them in a jelly roll pan as a bar cookie. Couldn't keep my hands off them. Word to the wise if you read the other reviews. I tried them with extra flour as one person suggested and they came out too dry. I thought they were perfect just as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
As a New Englander who is very familiar with hermits, I thought these very authentic, easy to make, and were a big hit with my family. I did add just a touch more flour (1/4 c.) and let the dough rest in the fridge for an hour to make it easier to handle. Once I made my "logs" (quite ugly), I brushed them with eggwash and sprinkled them with some granulated sugar (I think turbinado would have been better but I had none on hand). I baked them for a little longer than stated in the recipe, about 18 minutes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I've never heard of Hermit Bar cookies, but these are outstanding. The only change I made was to add some vanilla, and I subbed the white sugar for 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup of splenda. I also increased the spices to 1.5 teaspoons of each. This is definitely one of the best cookies on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These are terrific - easy to make and tasty! I used one-and-a-half cups each all-purpose and whole wheat flour and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States