Hermit Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These were OK. Not the best cookie ever, but not the worst. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and I felt they lacked something. They were not super sweet or super flavorful, just kind of average. So I made the "Vanilla Glaze" from this website and drizzled it over the top of the cookies. This fixed them and made them really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent Hermits! I did refrigerate for about 45 minutes before cooking and they came out perfect. Added some extra raisins :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These bars are wonderful. I did not change a thing in this recipe. They seemed to have the perfect blend of spices and I love the texture. I loved the "biscotti" way of making them. I have enough molasses left to make them one more time. Thank you AUNT MAMIE for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These are just like the Hermit's we had as kids and we LOVE them !! I do as many have suggested and add an extra 1/2 cup of flour and they come out perfect! To make it easier, we just drop balls of the dough and make round cookies. This just saves a little extra time. This recipe rocks !! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was OK. I made it for a high school bake sale because the reviews were so good but then I was disappointed. If I had to describe it, without the raisins, the texture reminds me of the walls of a gingerbread house we make at Christmas. As for the taste, it tastes like a graham cracker but with a lot less sugar and a lot less crispy. This is a soft cookie but crispy on edges. I drizzled some white almond bark on top and woh did it make a difference. It made a good presentation and actually brought out the flavors of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gordie
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
One of my favorites from my childhood.The coffee is an improvement to what I thought was great recipe (same as Mom's). I did use whole wheat flour,added an extra 1/4 cup of flour & plumped the raisins in the coffee. The recipe has a permanent place in my recipe box!!!Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These were EXACTLY what I was looking for when I went searching for a hermit cookie recipe. I added dried cranberries and walnuts and replaced the cinnamon and cloves with pumpkin pie spice, and cooked them in a jelly roll pan as a bar cookie. Couldn't keep my hands off them. Word to the wise if you read the other reviews. I tried them with extra flour as one person suggested and they came out too dry. I thought they were perfect just as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
As a New Englander who is very familiar with hermits, I thought these very authentic, easy to make, and were a big hit with my family. I did add just a touch more flour (1/4 c.) and let the dough rest in the fridge for an hour to make it easier to handle. Once I made my "logs" (quite ugly), I brushed them with eggwash and sprinkled them with some granulated sugar (I think turbinado would have been better but I had none on hand). I baked them for a little longer than stated in the recipe, about 18 minutes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I've never heard of Hermit Bar cookies, but these are outstanding. The only change I made was to add some vanilla, and I subbed the white sugar for 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup of splenda. I also increased the spices to 1.5 teaspoons of each. This is definitely one of the best cookies on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These are terrific - easy to make and tasty! I used one-and-a-half cups each all-purpose and whole wheat flour and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States