Hermano Roberto's Simple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is fabulous salsa. I do not care for pepper black or white and I do not like hot foods, ironically I loved this. I was so tempting to reduce spices or use some fresh garlic. Don't change the spices. I used 1.5 cups of fresh garden tomatoes peeled and chopped and then added a can of petite diced tomatoes to make the 28 oz size. For the jalepenos I used about a 1/2 can drained 4oz size of diced jalepenos. They are already prepared. The salsa was kind of like the restaurant salsa, they serve with chips, if it was completely fresh. I have made a lot of salsas and this one is really good. I put it in my Vitamix on about speed 7 or 8 for 7 seconds. Thanks, Roberto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
So simple yet so delicious! It has a nice amount of heat, without popping your eyes out. The only tweak I made was to add a bit of salt since I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used diced tomatoes, so I only had to blend for about 8-10 seconds. I made some baked tortilla chips with whole wheat tortillas. So good! I gave hubby a taste and all he could say was WOW! This is a keeper! It's a nice recipe to have on hand when unexpected guests stop by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I really enjoy this salsa but I sometimes add a bit of cayenne pepper and other things for a little spice. I added some chipotle powder for a little heat, but the flavor and texture is great. Thanks for sharing such a simple, but effective recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I can't believe more people haven't tried this. It is fantastic! I used fresh garlic and salt insted of garlic salt, and also added some chopped onion. Will surely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've long suspected the key to the awesome salsa at my favorite authentic Mexican restaurants was canned tomatoes, so I was excited to try this. I made it twice: the first time, I followed it exactly. The thing about salsa is that it's very subjective and easy to tweak, so I gave this five stars, even though I found it a little too soupy, a little too hot and it was missing something... which I realized was onions and garlic. So I tried it again: draining the tomatoes, adding two tablespoons of diced onions, a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and taking it down to one jalapeno. Success! This is a great recipe to tweak for your own tastes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN5502

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was delicious, and SO easy to make! This will be a fun recipe to play around with/ change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
this is sooo easy to make. the only change i made was i didn't use so much cumin. it tasted to much like chili not salsa. Otherwise best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this except I roasted the peppers. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States